Total newbie on ATSC to DVB-T conversion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 02-20-2009, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey there,

So, maybe my answer is on here somewhere, but I am a complete AV idiot, and pretty much need everything spelled out for me here. I hope I'm in the right place, sorry if I'm not. And hopefully somebody can help me... keep in mind I only sort of understand the problem myself.

So, basically what it comes down to is I have a TV tuner card on my computer that accepts component input and can display HD/progressive scan, but only from a DVB-T signal. I have it hooked up to a game console (PS2 right now, PS3 later) which I assume is sending out an ATSC HD/progressive scan signal.

Needless to say, it doesn't show correctly, although almost. Basically all I get is a sharper, but weird double-vision display; two views side-by-side at the wrong aspect ratio.

Is there any way I can convert an ATSC signal from component to a DVB-T signal, either through hardware or software means?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 02-20-2009, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member

The entire premise of your question is flawed. ATSC and DVB-T are different standards for the broadcast of compressed digital audio and video signals. Component is uncompressed analog video. ATSC and DVB-T have nothing to do with component, though many tuners capable of receiving and decoding ATSC signals (mainly used in the US, Canada, Mexico, and Korea) and DVB-T (used in most of the rest of the world) have a component video out. A game system like a PS2/PS3 doesn't do ATSC or DVB-T in any way, shape or form.
post #3 of 25 Old 02-20-2009, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter

Hmm, I see.