TVGOS ( TV Guide On Screen ) Devices - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1484 Old 04-21-2009, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HoustonPerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mabuttra View Post

videobruce,
Along with the info I mentioned over on spiffspace, here are some pictures for you to look at. You can compare them to your screens.

Picture 1 & 2 are the 2 Section Slicing screens, notice all zeros.

Picture 3 is the new ATSC Slicing screen.

If I had an analog host, the Section slicing screens would not be filled with zeros.

Mark

mabuttra, what is your environment? OTA, cable?

Is it digital "only" - meaning no analogue TVGOS to the box?

If I understand your last line you have no analogue in the area? Is that correct?

I assume you are on the new Sony Software?
HoustonPerson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1484 Old 04-21-2009, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mabuttra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wichita, KS OTA (w/optional cable connection)
Posts: 1,895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'll post these answers here too, in case inquiring minds want to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoustonPerson View Post

mabuttra, what is your environment? OTA, cable?

OTA, but I do have a cable line available to plug in if I want.

Quote:


Is it digital "only" - meaning no analogue TVGOS to the box?

Only digital here. Here is the history...

The analog PBS station was the analog host channel here, and they shut down their analog signal on 1/5/2009. Analog CBS never carried TVGOS data, but it doesn't matter, because they shut down their analog feed on 2/17/2009. I get my data from digital CBS, and if I so choose, I can connect the cable line up, and have access to the analog TVGOS on analog CBS (Cox cable is converting the digital TVGOS to analog, and sending it out on analog CBS). I really have the best of both worlds here.

Quote:


If I understand your last line you have no analogue in the area? Is that correct?

Correct.

Quote:


I assume you are on the new Sony Software?

I applied the software Friday evening. However even with the old firmware, I was able to go from a 'TV Guide - Reset to Factory Default' to a channel lineup in less than 48 hours (on March 25th). jayhawkram who posts every once in a while is also in Wichita, his unit reset a week ago (lost his channel lineup and grid), and after applying the new firmware upgrade, he also got a channel lineup back. My only conclusion I can draw from this is that the TVGOS data in this area is "different" than other areas.

Mark
mabuttra is offline  
post #183 of 1484 Old 04-21-2009, 05:22 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I'm posting these images of all of the TVGOS Diagnostics screens which can be viewed by the regular "user" menu of my Mits LT-46246 which uses TVGOS V-9.01.56 software for it's "TV-Guide Daily" feature. My TV is currently using digital PBS as the HostChan, it has a Grid, and the Listings update daily. Hopefully these images may be useful to someone.






LL
LL
LL
LL
LL

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #184 of 1484 Old 04-21-2009, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

I'm posting these images of all of the TVGOS Diagnostics screens which can be viewed by the regular "user" menu of my Mits LT-46246 which uses TVGOS V-9.01.56 software for it's "TV-Guide Daily" feature. My TV is currently using digital PBS as the HostChan, it has a Grid, and the Listings update daily. Hopefully these images may be useful to someone.

Can you get to your Section Setup-Input Configuration diag screen?
I know you said previously that you couldn't find out how to enter the specific 9 digit TVGOS codes on your set...

P.S. On the PM I sent you, try adding step #0 (zero), tune to your host channel
bwall23 is offline  
post #185 of 1484 Old 04-22-2009, 05:25 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

Can you get to your Section Setup-Input Configuration diag screen?

I don't think so, at least I don't have a picture of it. I think I took pictures of ALL of the screens. I'm at work now, I'll have to look again tonight.

UPDATE: No, that screen does not exist on my TV, or at least it is not accessible via the same Diagnostics menu.

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #186 of 1484 Old 04-22-2009, 01:15 PM
Member
 
dlj9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On April 14, I sent email to Macrovision's CE Support complaining about not getting TVGOS service in the Washington DC metro area for my Sony DHG-HDD500 and Sharp Aquos TV. I included Comcast's not-our-devices-don't-care response in that email.

On the 16, Macrovision sent a response back asking me to fill out a TV Guide Diagnostics - Version 8 form. Basically I wrote down the TVGOS info doing the 753..procedure on each device and sent it back.

Today, April 22, I got a reply:
"There seems to be a data passage problem in the consumer's area. We will be escalating this to TV Guide's Broadcast Engineers for further investigation into this problem. We will up date you as soon as we can. Thank you."

Keeping my fingers crossed.

ÂInsanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.Â
Albert Einstein
dlj9999 is offline  
post #187 of 1484 Old 04-22-2009, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
 
jafi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jafi1 View Post

Found on the Macrovision TVGOS support site:
http://www.macrovision.com/support/9...link_id=topnav

Note - no Panasonic is listed so must be currently in production devices?
But here's this:
Artec Support
Purchase an Artec digital-to-analog converter box that plugs into your existing television or VCR with TV Guide or Guide Plus+ built in.
Now available for purchase nationwide at www.artecdtv.com or by calling (626) 912-0668.
more»

http://www.artecdtv.com/

No luck so far locating a user manual or any more info on the TVGuide/TVGOS piece.

Artec finally has a user manual posted on their site for the Artec T3APR-T - DTV converter TVGOS box.

The instructions for the TVGOS read the same as for the DTVPal.
The picture of the EPG does not look as good as the Pal. There are no event timers. It does have analog pass through.

Couple of interesting things to note in the manual:
1.There is a data port on the back for "factory maintenance".
2. There is a menu option to set the screen as either 4:3 or 16:9

The Artec box is at ZipZoomFly for $59.99 - I've used my coupons so I won't be buying one. Would love to know how it compares to the Pal.
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=10010200
jafi1 is offline  
post #188 of 1484 Old 04-22-2009, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

I could not get TVGOS to recognize my set's new configuration and did not want to reset my TV to factory defaults. I tried TVGOS Warm, Cold and System Resets (ouch, no cooldown). Turned off TVGOS from the TV set setup and back on. TV System Reset. Tried TVGOS zipcode 00000 and 99999. Stuck tongue out left side of mouth while standing on right foot and holding left ear, etc.

I gave up and setup my config as TVGOS thinks it is.
  • ANT1 - CableReady, only I have nothing connected to ANT1 now and did a channel scan for both cable and OTA from my Mits set and disabled it in NetCommand so I cannot even select ANT1 as an input
  • ANT2 - My rooftop OTA UHF antenna and did an OTA channel scan and disabled all analog channels in the Mits channel editor
  • Disabled TVGOS, shut down completely and unplugged overnight.
  • Enabled TVGOS (from the TV setup) on ANT2 as OTA with my correct zipcode.

TVGOS still thinks I have CableReady (cable w/CC) on ANT1 and OTA on ANT2. I will let it stew over that(/sleep on it) tonight and see if it gets any smarter tomorrow.

Just an update (and for those new to this thread, no reply necessary, I don't use TVGOS anymore)...
It's been two days since I did this and still haven't got a timezone packet. Other packets filling in as usual [Reception-VBI Stats].
bwall23 is offline  
post #189 of 1484 Old 04-23-2009, 05:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Macrovision is trying to help.....

BS. Help my a$$. They couldn't help their way out of a paper bag.
Quote:
"There seems to be a data passage problem in the consumer's area."

Yea, the whole US.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #190 of 1484 Old 04-23-2009, 02:04 PM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an LG TV with a DVR and TVGOS. Guide data was coming from local PBS analog (Austin) until they dropped the analog broadcast. So I called LG help and explained. They said that their TVGOS specialist would call me back and we arranged a time yesterday (22nd). They called and instructed me to enter the '753... menu', guided me thru multiple pages and asked for the values in many fields. They then asked me to enter the 'reset 9-digit' code and made an appointment to call me again tonight. They said that they would give the results to 'Gemstar' (using the old name) and should have an answer back in one week. They said that 'Gemstar would determine where the data was being lost'.

Host-channel was blank in the menu.

I was afraid that my TV would not accept guide info from a digital station, but maybe it will, based on their actions so far. It has v08 firmware.

One of the things they had me check was whether I was getting Closed Caption data on the 18-2 channel (which looks like an analog signal). I am. I told her that CBS (42) has told me that they were carrying TVGOS here.

I'll repost when I learn more.

I'm happy that at least they didn't just say "that does not work any more".

...more to come...
annonatx is offline  
post #191 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 06:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
annonatx; What version of TVGOS does it have; V8 or V7 like their DVR?
If it is V7, your are SOOL.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #192 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 08:09 AM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

annonatx; What version of TVGOS does it have; V8 or V7 like their DVR?
If it is V7, your are SOOL.

...base version is 08.01.44

LG has not told me that it will not work (yet)!
annonatx is offline  
post #193 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 08:35 AM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG built a series of Plasma TV's with TVGOS and built in DVR. 50PX4DR is an example model. TVGOS base version is 08.01.44 in this set.
annonatx is offline  
post #194 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 08:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I would assume it would need a firmware upgrade, but that is only an assumption.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #195 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 09:32 AM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll let you know what happens. They promised feedback with 10 days, after Gemstar responds to them. We will see.
annonatx is offline  
post #196 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I hope it is Macrovision that responds. Gemstar was sold to MV a year ago.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #197 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 10:35 AM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG's "TVGOS specialist" still refers to them as Gemstar.
annonatx is offline  
post #198 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 11:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
So does Mits. I even sent them a link concerning the merger/buyout;
http://www.gemstartvguide.com/compan.../1434_9249.htm

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #199 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 12:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by annonatx View Post

LG built a series of Plasma TV's with TVGOS and built in DVR.

At least a couple of FP LCD's, too.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #200 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
avnstf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berkeley USA
Posts: 1,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by annonatx View Post

...base version is 08.01.44

LG has not told me that it will not work (yet)!

The Sony 250/500 DVR had the same base version, and Sony issued a firmware update a week ago that is supposed to alter the device so that digital TVGOS will work...I think some of he MV documentation indicates that a base version of 8.1.65 or later will be needed, and the new Sony firmware changed its base version to 8.1.70...

Our units had been getting digital data in an on-again off-again manner before the update, and it remains to be seen how the new firmware will work if there's NO analog around, because in most areas that won't occur until June (presumably)...

OTA only. For signal strength at your location: FCC DTV reception map
TVGOS data: Sony 250 from 5.1?, LG3410a from my DTVPal setup here, not any more.

avnstf is offline  
post #201 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

I could not get TVGOS to recognize my set's new configuration and did not want to reset my TV to factory defaults. I tried TVGOS Warm, Cold and System Resets (ouch, no cooldown). Turned off TVGOS from the TV set setup and back on. TV System Reset. Tried TVGOS zipcode 00000 and 99999. Stuck tongue out left side of mouth while standing on right foot and holding left ear, etc.

I gave up and setup my config as TVGOS thinks it is.
ANT1 - CableReady, only I have nothing connected to ANT1 now and did a channel scan for both cable and OTA from my Mits set and disabled it in NetCommand so I cannot even select ANT1 as an input
ANT2 - My rooftop OTA UHF antenna and did an OTA channel scan and disabled all analog channels in the Mits channel editor
Disabled TVGOS, shut down completely and unplugged overnight.
Enabled TVGOS (from the TV setup) on ANT2 as OTA with my correct zipcode.

TVGOS still thinks I have CableReady (cable w/CC) on ANT1 and OTA on ANT2. I will let it stew over that(/sleep on it) tonight and see if it gets any smarter tomorrow.

4 days and nothing much to report... TVGOS has actually added a digital channel (2.1 & 2.2) I don't receive to my sets channel editor and is off trying to tune in cable on ANT1, even though nothing is attached to the ANT1 input. About 250 zipcode packets now, but no timezome packets yet. I'm going to stop reporting updates on this here until I get my timezone packet and a lineup choice.
bwall23 is offline  
post #202 of 1484 Old 04-24-2009, 09:41 PM
Member
 
annonatx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avnstf View Post

The Sony 250/500 DVR had the same base version, and Sony issued a firmware update a week ago that is supposed to alter the device so that digital TVGOS will work...I think some of he MV documentation indicates that a base version of 8.1.65 or later will be needed, and the new Sony firmware changed its base version to 8.1.70...

Our units had been getting digital data in an on-again off-again manner before the update, and it remains to be seen how the new firmware will work if there's NO analog around, because in most areas that won't occur until June (presumably)...

I will post more when I hear back from LG. Analog PBS and CBS are gone here.
annonatx is offline  
post #203 of 1484 Old 04-26-2009, 02:35 PM
Member
 
dlj9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to perform the G* test on a Sharp Aquos TV?

ÂInsanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.Â
Albert Einstein
dlj9999 is offline  
post #204 of 1484 Old 04-26-2009, 02:54 PM
Member
 
puttsthree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Manufacturer and Model: Mitsubishi LT-46231
2. TVGOS Version: 08.02.44/08.06.44/00.00.00/00040005/64/0000
3. Links to Threads: Don't know

I have OTA antenna, and I am getting the TVGOS info from PBS analog and ran a G* test on this channel (see "PBS analog.jpg"). I then changed to the digital PBS channel, and ran the G* test (see "PBS digital.jpg"). I have a couple questions. Will the version (see TVGOS version.jpg) of TVGOS mentioned above work with a digital signal or only analog? How do you get a firmware upgrade?
LL
LL
LL
puttsthree is offline  
post #205 of 1484 Old 04-26-2009, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttsthree View Post

1. Manufacturer and Model: Mitsubishi LT-46231
2. TVGOS Version: 08.02.44/08.06.44/00.00.00/00040005/64/0000
3. Links to Threads: Don't know

I have OTA antenna, and I am getting the TVGOS info from PBS analog and ran a G* test on this channel (see "PBS analog.jpg"). I then changed to the digital PBS channel, and ran the G* test (see "PBS digital.jpg"). I have a couple questions. Will the version (see TVGOS version.jpg) of TVGOS mentioned above work with a digital signal or only analog? How do you get a firmware upgrade?

Thanks for the info, added to page 1. Your TVGOS version is not ATSC (DTV) compatible according to Mitsubishi, Gemstar and Macrovision. To get a firmware update, contact Mitsubishi support and ask for a firmware update to support digital TVGOS on your set.
bwall23 is offline  
post #206 of 1484 Old 04-26-2009, 06:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bwall23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlj9999 View Post

Does anyone know how to perform the G* test on a Sharp Aquos TV?

If it's TVGOS version 8, try this from my first post "For V8 Diagnostics, Open TV Guide On Screen, highlight SETUP on the service bar, down arrow once, enter the diagnostic code of 753 159 852.", but use diagnostic code 971 397 135 instead (spaces are only used here to make it easier to read the 9 digit code which is entered from the devices remote by pressing the number keys in order, one after the other)
bwall23 is offline  
post #207 of 1484 Old 04-27-2009, 04:53 AM
Member
 
dlj9999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwall23 View Post

If it's TVGOS version 8, try this from my first post "For V8 Diagnostics, Open TV Guide On Screen, highlight SETUP on the service bar, down arrow once, enter the diagnostic code of 753 159 852.", but use diagnostic code 971 397 135 instead (spaces are only used here to make it easier to read the 9 digit code which is entered from the devices remote by pressing the number keys in order, one after the other)

Thanks. And, yeah, it's a V8.

ÂInsanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.Â
Albert Einstein
dlj9999 is offline  
post #208 of 1484 Old 04-27-2009, 04:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
enter the diagnostic code of 753 159 852.", but use diagnostic code 971 397 135 instead

I think that part needs a re-write.

puttsthree; Good screen shots. I'm glad someone finally posted these since I still have failed to get answers to questions regarding this apparent poorly named "VBI' portion of this test screen. Your screen shot was like mine, but with half the number of packets. With the shot of your digital host, I see you are receiving a packet count (half the amount I received when I did receive TVGOS packets) that they still call VBI packets, but it is giving you a "Fail".

Attached represents a before and after seneraio of my situation. I'm somewhat convinced my 'host' is NOT properly passing TVGOS data. The 1st shot is before the Sony firmware patch/upgrade and while the analog host was up. The 2nd shot is after the upgrade and after my Host's analog station went dark.
I don't know if it is the Sony firmware upgrade or the lack of the analog host that made the difference, or both.

BTW, disregard the different TVGOS version number of the 2nd attachment, the pic was off of my Mits DLP and just used for convenience. The result is currently the same on either.
LL
LL

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #209 of 1484 Old 04-27-2009, 05:58 AM
Member
 
amidcars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me understand the ridiculus, redundent procedure that is necesary to force TVGOS to display listings from a digital channel. Of course, this is assuming you do have a digital channel that is supplying TVGOS data and also assuming it is sending data correctly.

1. After the device (TV, DVR, etc.) has been reset, you set it on the host channel for a period of time (overnight for example), so it will aquire the first firmware upgrade to be loaded,
2. It then aquires the 2nd firmware upgrade over the next time period (how ever long it will be). Durning this time the device is left on, unlike when the device is just updating just the program listing data.
3. The 3rd stage is the actual program data download time which is over a period of a few days (in addition of the previous time). This is done when the device is off.
amidcars is offline  
post #210 of 1484 Old 04-27-2009, 06:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Something like that, but what I have found is the time from no patch to the 2nd (current) patch is much faster now.

I really believe the data from my host is not complete or is just corrupted so I can't confirm any of that for sure. I'm using a analog host from Toronto for the time being.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off