Channel Master 3018 in Palo Alto (SF Bay) only getting NBC11 -- SOLVED - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 03-13-2009, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Note, this is now solved. See bottom for my resolution, which was essentially "RTFM you idiot."

Am hoping some wisdom on this board will guide me.

Caveat: I have zero experience with antennas or any HD beyond what Comcast used to give me.

Background: I have a HTPC with a Hauppage digital tuner card I am trying to utilize with an antenna.

I am in Palo Alto CA. I grabbed a Terk indoor antenna from Fry's last week, and simply tossing it near the ceiling I was able to get a handful of channels, albeit spottily. I decided to go outdoor, bought a ChannelMaster 3018 and put it together. All good seemingly.

It is on the roof, put together, I have attached the balun and coax to the balun, but no matter what I now do (or where I aim), the only channel I can get with the 3018 is NBC11.

Antennaweb shows NBC (and few other channels) to be available at 306 degrees; most other digital channels at 320 degrees. But I can't get any of these other channels.

Tips/advice all welcome. (Assembly instructions for antenna neophytes are less than ideal.) Have I perhaps connected the balun improperly? Will a signal amplifier take me from zero signal to green? Should I really expect the Terk indoor piece of plastic to best this 15-foot roof-mounted monstrosity??

thanks in advance, I can provide photos or more detail to anyone willing to help out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 03-13-2009, 01:43 PM

Hi, and welcome! It's not an inadequate antenna for your area, that's for sure. Check the following, in order of increasing complexity: