Ideas on how to turn a UHF antenna into a UHF/VHF antenna. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 52 Old 06-13-2009, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been chugging along great for a few years now, picking up OTA HD broadcasts in my area on a DB4 that I have sitting in a second-floor bedroom. With the digital transition, one of my main stations (the local Fox affiliate, WJBK) switched over to a VHF channel - 7. So, now I'm not receiving them (though I've read some with DB4's are picking them up, perhaps they're closer).

When I look up my address on antennaweb, all the stations I care about are broadcasting from about 19 miles away, at close to the same angle (varies from 52 degrees to 72 degrees).

Any recommendations on a VHF-only antenna I can mix in with my DB4, or an antenna that handles both VHF and UHF to replace it? I'd prefer to keep it indoors if possible, as that's the easiest solution for me. Does something like the Winegard MS-2000 sound like it would work in this situation?

Thanks in advance,

-Frank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 52 Old 06-13-2009, 06:43 PM

I had three stations switch back to VHF (7, 9 and 11).

The two DIY UHF antennas, a C2 clone and a 7 element LPDA (log periodic dipole array), that I have been using would not pick them up.

I made a simple modification to each and viola, can receive all three VHF stations with no problems (35 - 50 miles distant, line of sight, antennas in attic 45' above ground).

On the C2 clone. I added a VHF (high) dipole at the junction of the 2 loops.

On the LPDA, I added extensions to the rear element, such that was now a VHF (high) dipole.

In both cases, the UHF performance did not suffer.

Try this on your DB4.

Add a ch 7 dipole to the center of your DB4 (where the feed line attaches). Each side of the dipole will be 16" - 17". You can easy try this with two pieces of wire and alligator clips.