Vizio problems with cable clear QAM channels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-15-2009, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HueyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.tvtechnology.com/article/83808

Apparently Vizio is having some problems with clear QAM channels.
HueyD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-15-2009, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From TV Technology


Quote:


Update on Limited Vizio ClearQAM Channel Choices

I have an update on my previous article about a cable TV operator trying to make it easy for consumers to receive ClearQAM basic digital channels without a set-top box. He found some Vizio receivers were able to receive only a narrow band of frequencies, not the entire cable TV band. It turns out the frequency range was not the real problem.

I've received a number of e-mail messages from readers about this. First, readers with Vizio DTV sets on cable systems where the proper station major/minor channel number is displayed (example “4.1”) were able to receive ClearQAM signals over the entire band. This pointed to the cable PSIP as the source of the problem.

Recently I heard from the cable operator and also one of his subscribers. The cable operator reported, “After a lot of testing and experimentation, we discovered that the presence of PSIP data on encrypted QAM streams was having an impact how these sets tuned and/or resolved the clear QAM streams. We still don't understand the relationship, but found that more and more ClearQAMs became visible to these sets as we stopped sending PSIP data on other streams.”

The subscriber also contacted Vizio. They suggested a double re-scan (scan once with no connection to the antenna/cable input and scan again with it attached). The subscriber was able to use this to restore the channels, but lost them when the set was powered off and on again. Vizio suggested another technique that apparently does a hard reset on the tuner. This procedure involved unhooking the coax from the antenna/cable input, unplugging the TV set, holding the power button down for 30 seconds while reconnecting power and coax, then doing a re-scan. That, he said, solved the problem.

The cable operator was also making changes to solve the problem, so it isn't clear if this reset or the cable operator's efforts fixed the problem. However, readers may want to keep this reset handy if they run into any channel scanning problems with Vizio DTV sets.


'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-15-2009, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a problem with a 20 inch Vizio tv on Bright House of Bakersfield. RF76 has FOX on subchannel 1 and is mapped to 46.1 . Subchannel 2 has MYTV and subchannel 3 has CW24. These 2 subchannels have no PSIP data. This makes the Vizio's tuner unable to find them. My Philips HDTV, Magnavox HDTV and LG DVD recorder all receive them on 76.2 and 76.3 . My Durabrand cheapo 13 inch tube tv apparently is a little confused by the arrangement as it receives them on 76.1 and 76.2 instead. If I want to watch MYTV or CW on the Vizio tv I have 3 choices: flip the A/B switch and change the tuner to antenna mode and tune the over the air digital signal, use the DVD recorder's tuner to receive the digital cable signal, or watch the analog cable signal with the Vizio's tuner.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off