Turning on light improves reception - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
laddiesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I have a Philips MANT940 antenna mounted on a mast approx. 20' high. I have an amplified splitter. My question is would there be any logical reason for much improved reception when I turn a light on. The light is in the closet where I have placed the splitter. I have tested this several times. Light on, reception good, light off worse or no reception (on multiple TV's).
laddiesmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the light switch also turns on the outlet the splitter is powered from.
NightHawk is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the splitter plugged into an outlet controlled by the switch?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
You're running an amplified antenna into an amplified splitter?

Try eliminating that amplified splitter by replacing it with a passive splitter.

edit:
Quote:


the light switch also turns on the outlet the splitter is powered from.

Well, duh! When the light is off, so is the amplified splitter which disconnects the signal.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
laddiesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the responses

Answers

The splitter is not even plugged in for these tests, however I am curious why ProjectSHO89 would suggest using passive splitter. The splitter was plugged into an outlet that may be on same circuit, however not controlled by switch.
laddiesmith is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by laddiesmith View Post

Thanks for all the responses

Answers

The splitter is not even plugged in for these tests, however I am curious why ProjectSHO89 would suggest using passive splitter. The splitter was plugged into an outlet that may be on same circuit, however not controlled by switch.

Too much amplification is as bad as not enough...
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by laddiesmith View Post

Thanks for all the responses

Answers

The splitter is not even plugged in for these tests, however I am curious why ProjectSHO89 would suggest using passive splitter. The splitter was plugged into an outlet that may be on same circuit, however not controlled by switch.

Too much amplification is as bad as not enough...

Ya know, clarity is important the first time around.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
laddiesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have heard that you can overamplify. On some sites they indicate that if you have multiple TV's off one antenna, you should use an amped splitter.

Anyway, I plugged the splitter back in and it didn't affect things at all. Still, the light switch seems to control my reception. I am sure there is some LOGICAL reason for this, but it escapes me.
laddiesmith is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by laddiesmith View Post

Anyway, I plugged the splitter back in and it didn't affect things at all. Still, the light switch seems to control my reception. I am sure there is some LOGICAL reason for this, but it escapes me.

It's not a touch lamp, is it? They are known to cause interference.

If not, the best solution for interference with an indoor antenna is to move the antenna outdoors or into the attic.
Tower Guy is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Generally - one doesn't use both an amplifed antenna / pre-amp and a distribution amp unless there are extreme cases for doing so, such as long cables combined with multiple drops. Even then, your distribution amp should only barely make up for your splits. And not powering an amp kills reception through it.

I should know this - because I have a OTA / distribution setup that would drive most people here nuts. I'm doing both - 19dB Winegard pre-amp on a CM4221 antenna, coming to a Channel Plus Multiroom distribution system, with a Radio Shack distribution amp because I needed MORE outputs, along with some very long (50-100 feet in some cases) runs of RG6 coax to the reception devices. When it's done right - it's beautiful - when somethings not right - it's really not right.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the lamp on a dimmer?
If you remove the bulb from the lamp do you get the same effect?
If the lamp a CFL or an incadescent?
walford is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Whether there's a dimmer or if the bulb is CFL, that shouldn't improve reception, but probably interfere with reception.
Ratman is online now  
post #13 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
kedirekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is a stupid question, but I don't see that it's been asked yet ...

Is the power injector for the mast-mounted pre-amp in the closet? Any chance it's being powered off when you shut the light off?

If not, is the power injector downstream of the distribution amp? I don't consider this likely, but perhaps the distribution amp is only letting power through when the switch is in the on position (miss-wired outlet weirdness).
kedirekin is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedirekin View Post

This is a stupid question, but I don't see that it's been asked yet ...

Is the power injector for the mast-mounted pre-amp in the closet? Any chance it's being powered off when you shut the light off?

If not, is the power injector downstream of the distribution amp? I don't consider this likely, but perhaps the distribution amp is only letting power through when the switch is in the on position (miss-wired outlet weirdness).

That's a GOLD STAR idea!
Tower Guy is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 08-14-2009, 07:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedirekin View Post

This is a stupid question, but I don't see that it's been asked yet ...

Is the power injector for the mast-mounted pre-amp in the closet? Any chance it's being powered off when you shut the light off?

If not, is the power injector downstream of the distribution amp? I don't consider this likely, but perhaps the distribution amp is only letting power through when the switch is in the on position (miss-wired outlet weirdness).

Already covered above.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 08-15-2009, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
MAX HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Greensburg In.47240
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe your wiring is screwed up,with the switch breaking the neutral instead of the hot wire.I've seen this happen and causes all sorts of problems.
MAX HD is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 08-15-2009, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Easy test. Get a small lamp or radio and:
Plug it into the same recepticle where the power injector for the antenna is located. Test the light switch.

Do the same with the powered splitter.

See if one (or both) of the outlets is controlled by the light switch (circuit). Report back.
Ratman is online now  
post #18 of 18 Old 08-15-2009, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Easy test. Get a small lamp or radio and:
Plug it into the same recepticle where the power injector for the antenna is located. Test the light switch.

Do the same with the powered splitter.

See if one (or both) of the outlets is controlled by the light switch (circuit). Report back.

Or get an extension cord for the power supplies and run it off a known non-switched outlet.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off