Over the air HDTV and HD radio ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 08-16-2009, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm new to over the air HDTV and radio.

My questions are:

Do I need an HD antenna of some sort to receive local channels in HD?
Are any other channels (otehr than local) available in HD over the air?

I assume that the antenna is not the indoor type available at the local Walmart, etc. If not, then what type of antenna should I be looking to fit - and will this be indoor or outdoor?
Will it need to be mounted high up on, say, a chimney etc?

Will this allow me to receive HD radio - or do I need a different/separate antenna for radio ?

What cabling should I use for the TV and the radio antenna?

Apologies for all the questions at once.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 08-16-2009, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by naughtybutnice View Post

Do I need an HD antenna of some sort to receive local channels in HD?

Antennas for receiving HDTV are the same kinds of antennas that people have been using for TV all along. If it says "HD" on the box, it's purely for marketing.

Quote:

Are any other channels (otehr than local) available in HD over the air?

If you mean stuff like CNN, ESPN etc., no. What you can get over the air in HD is ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS, CW, MyNetworkTV (maybe not all of these depending on your location and/or your antenna), plus maybe some local independent stations.

Quote:

I assume that the antenna is not the indoor type available at the local Walmart, etc. If not, then what type of antenna should I be looking to fit - and will this be indoor or outdoor?
Will it need to be mounted high up on, say, a chimney etc?