Amplified Splitter/Distribution Amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-30-2009, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have great reception for all of my OTA stations, but would like to distribute the signal to 5 more more TV's and HD tuner cards on PC's. I use a CM 7777 preamp from the antennas (attic install) to my AV hub in the basement (about 70')and would like to use some sort of powered splitter before i sent the signal out to all of the devices. The only one i have found with a quick google search is the CM 3418 http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=CM3418

Any reason why this would not work? My stations range from 42 miles to 68.
lovebohn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-30-2009, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IDRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Should work fine. Make sure you purchase some terminators and add terminators to the unused ports.
IDRick is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-01-2009, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any problem with the 1000 mhz limit of the amp with digital OTA signals?
lovebohn is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-01-2009, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovebohn View Post

Is there any problem with the 1000 mhz limit of the amp with digital OTA signals?

Not at all. Currently, OTA only goes up to 806MHz, soon to be 698.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-01-2009, 07:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lovebohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will give it a try and see how things turn out.
lovebohn is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-01-2009, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kermee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CM 3418 (PCT-MA2-8P) works fine. Definitely get some cheap 75 ohm terminators for the unused ports to be on the safe side. You're probably fine without them but better safe than sorry.

Cheers,
Kermee

Cheers, Kermee
Kermee is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off