HD OTA on Panasonic DLP PT60DL54 50" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Panasonic PT60DL54J 50" DLP. I can see the radio towers on top of Lookout Mountain from my 2nd story deck in West Arvada.

I just went to Best Buy and picked up an outdoor/attic HD antenna.

I ran about 30 feet of coax cable from the antenna directly into the COAX into the COAX antenna-in connector/port on the back of the TV.

I held the antenna pointed directly at the towers I could see (maybe 10 miles away, using a 50 mile range antenna) and could not get anything except for two spanish channels and some gospel channel, and none of the three are in HD.

I should be getting CW,CBS,ABC,NBC,FOX,UNI and more, and in HD.

My neighbor across the street gets these channels crystal clear in HD on his newer Samsung HDTV.

I am perplexed.

I was wondering if my TV is cable of dealing with the HD OTA signal as connected or if I needed some kind of HD receiver for it.

Please, please, please help me!

AtDhVaAnNkCsE !!! (thanks in advance)

Here's the manual for my TV: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=d...4e75f6e8ebb871

Here's the antenna I got: http://www.antennasdirect.com/C2-Cle...V-antenna.html

-FM
freeskimonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 07:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does your HDTV have an ATSC tuner?

It may be called ATSC, 8VSB, DTV.

Edit: From what I can tell, your HDTV does not have a Digital TV tuner, which would account for why you don't get any HD channels.

If that is the case, you'll need an external DTV tuner. See this topic for a list: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=179095

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ken: While your answer makes me VERY, VERY, VERY unhappy, I greatly appreciate the response.

I think I may just build a Windows 7 (Windows Media Center) HTPC and get myself a WMC-supported USB2 Tuner.

Hauppauge claims these work with Win7:
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/suppor...duct_list.html

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-850:
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hvr850.html

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950Q
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/produc...a_hvr950q.html

Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1950
http://www.hauppauge.com/site/produc...a_hvr1950.html
freeskimonkey is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 08:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskimonkey View Post

I think I may just build a Windows 7 (Windows Media Center) HTPC and get myself a WMC-supported USB2 Tuner.

Yes, that will work and give you PVR capability, but it's not like watching TV; it's like using a PC.

Also, does your HDTV have RGBHV input?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Also, does your HDTV have RGBHV input?

It has one HDMI input, three component (RGB but not RBGHV?) inputs, one VGA input, and three RCA connector inputs.
freeskimonkey is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Yes, that will work and give you PVR capability, but it's not like watching TV; it's like using a PC.

Using WMC, I'll be able to flip sit on the couch with my WMC HTPC remote and flip through the channels, afaik. That's very much like watching TV, no?
freeskimonkey is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskimonkey View Post

Using WMC, I'll be able to flip sit on the couch with my WMC HTPC remote and flip through the channels, afaik. That's very much like watching TV, no?

Trust me, it's close, but different.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskimonkey View Post

It has one HDMI input, three component (RGB but not RBGHV?) inputs, one VGA input, and three RCA connector inputs.

You'll use the VGA input.

The component inputs are not the same as RGB /RGBHV. VGA is.

You'll need some kind of program to optimize the PC video output to your HDTV's video input format. Do some research in the HTPC Forum: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=26

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the links. I will for sure read through these before I build a new system. My current system is hooked up to the TV via component cables (HP laptop docking station has component cable output). Netflix and Hulu work great.

Do you think the VGA output would work better than the component cables?

It's XP Pro, so I don't have Windows Media Center, so I'd have to rely on some alternative Media Center software like XBMC, MythTV, or whatever software comes with the USB2 Tuner device I purchase.

Any thoughts?
freeskimonkey is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeskimonkey View Post

Do you think the VGA output would work better than the component cables?

If both are HD, it shouldn't matter, but I'd try both and see if there was a difference.

As for the rest, the HTPC Forum is the place with the best answers.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 11-01-2009, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
freeskimonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all your help!
freeskimonkey is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off