Cheap 50ft HDMI Cable, why not? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cintichris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting ready for the last run in my home, it will be a 50ft HDMI cable from the media server to my bedroom.

I want to buy a decent quality cable at a good price. I have seen 50ft HDMI cables on eBay for $23 shipped. I know you get what you pay for, however, the cables sold at Harbor Freight are dirt cheap and seem to work fine.

Any reason I shouldn't buy one of the "cheapies" off the net? It's an easy run and can be redone later without ripping out drywall.

I know this question has probably been asked before and I apologize if I'm not in the right area of the forums.

Thanks, Chris.
cintichris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
k_ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Harbor Freight sells HDMI cables? Hmm, didn't know that, thanks.

I know many people on here use long HDMI cables such as what you are proposing, without problems. I don't know if the cheap ones are less reliable than the more expensive ones, though.
k_ross is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cintichris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, I got a 6' and a 12' for under $16 on sale.
cintichris is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I paid much less than 16 bucks, or 8 if you meant the combined price... for a 6 foot HDMI cable from Monoprice.com

Try their prices too.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 84
For 50 ft. I probably go with thicker gauge wire than what might be on a real cheap cable. Monoprice sells 50 footers in various gauges, I'd be inclined to go with the thicker. MP seems to be down right now or I'd give your a link. For a link to MP click their icon near the top of your screen(under the tabs).
jjeff is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
k_ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monoprice is down because of some reported credit card number mishandling. When they come back up, they say they are only going to accept PayPal and Google Checkout at first, until they get the credit card stuff straightened out.
k_ross is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI is spec'ed for 30'. Beyond that it may or may not work without a repeater/extender.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 04:04 PM
Member
 
vandyhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

HDMI is spec'ed for 30'. Beyond that it may or may not work without a repeater/extender.



I also need a 50' run. What do I do with this information? How do I make sure it does work at 50'?

Thanks!
vandyhorn is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 04:08 PM
Member
 
rabdab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rabdab is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-15-2010, 06:39 PM
Member
 
tone-deaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you looked into HDMI over CAT6 cable? It may require an extender or video distribution box but those can be cheaper than a 50ft Monster HDMI cable. The advantages to running CAT6 is you can change out the ends and the video distribution box in the future to re-purpose it for future needs such as newer HDMI standards.

5 years ago if you would have run a 50ft HDMI cable it would've been HDMI 1.1 cable. Today you would be limited by that cable. 5 years from now you'll be running a new HDMI cable but you wouldn't have to run new CAT6, just replace the media extender.

If you go CAT6 I'd recommend running as much cable as possible to cover future needs. That would be a minimum 2 runs of CAT6, 2 runs of RG6 and so on. Many companies sell this stuff bundled for easy home runs. Some bundles have fiber optic included. That would cover anything you'll need for a very long time.
tone-deaf is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-16-2010, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by vandyhorn View Post

I also need a 50' run. What do I do with this information? How do I make sure it does work at 50'?

Thanks!

Best bet is to buy one, hook it up and try it with your equipment.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-16-2010, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
elguapo27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After playing with 50' and 100' HDMI cables and using different output sources, it depends greatly on what the output power is on your source. The new BluRays seem to do great where the older DVD players seem to have problems. The extenders work good to boost the signal through. I would check every cable before you run it and then find out you can't push the signal through it. Most cable boxes and Dish recievers doo a good job, had some trouble with the Direct TV box, but it was a couple of years older.
elguapo27 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-20-2010, 09:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a 50 ft HDMI with, I think, AWG 22 wire. This was before HDMI 1.3 so must be HDMI 1.2, I am presently running through an ONKYO sr607 receiver to a Mits 4900c 1080p projector with this cable.

Playing PS3, DirecTV HDDVR, XBOX360 and PC at 1080p with no issues.

It was under $50 back then at Monoprice. Anywhere you can find a reasonablely priced cable with similar specs would be worth a try.
BVfan is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off