question about comcast digital migration and my over the air hd? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 65 Old 04-08-2010, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by QZ1 View Post

No, he could find a much less expensive splitter, that works much better; gold splitters are no good, not conductive enough, and Radio Shack /= quality. The reviews, as I expected, are poor; way overpriced junk, as often is the case with Radio Shack.

My recommendation is for him to buy a splitter online, something like the cable cos. use; Regal, Broadband Extreme, or Antronix, and others like Steren are good too. No gold, and 5-1000MHz is all that one needs to look for in one of those good brands.

Agreed - that was just to show an example of "what" a splitter is - not a "recommendation" for that particular one.

I find the splitters you can find at Ace, or Home Dept / Lowes Home Improvement, to be of equal or better quality than the fancy "gold" ones and work just fine.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 65 Old 04-08-2010, 11:19 AM
QZ1
AVS Special Member
 
QZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 5,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Understood. My point, though, was the 'fancy gold splitters' are actually worse, (and way overpriced). They work sometimes, but that is because any given home might have extra signal to offset the unnecessary extra signal loss from the gold splitter. (Also, a Radio Shack splitter's construction is questionable.)
QZ1 is offline  
post #63 of 65 Old 04-10-2010, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
ok i went to homedepot today and got my ab switcher and splitter. hopefully i can get this working. thanks guys
gregdpw is offline  
post #64 of 65 Old 04-10-2010, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
got it working! thanks guys. yeah i went to homedepot and got a splitter and a switch for only 8 dollars. thanks
gregdpw is offline  
post #65 of 65 Old 04-10-2010, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
that just saved me a monthly fee for a cable box. take that cable company!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gregdpw is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off