Monoprice indoor/outdoor antenna? (4730) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dasher123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone tried this indoor/outdoor antenna from Monoprice? any impressions? I think I am going to try it - the rabbit ears that I have right now are not consistent...seems a lot of people get good results with this even being used indoors...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
dasher123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 11:06 AM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I wouldn't trust it since most of what it says is BS.

A)The HDA-5700 is specially designed for the new digital terrestrial broadcasts. Perfect for new HDTV's as an alternative to or accompanying other HD souces. This antenna will let you take full advantage of the built-in HD tuner in your TV. It receives the new ATSC DTV broadcasts mandated by law over VHF and UHF bandwidths.

ANY antenna can pick up ATSC signals. Even one 30 years old.

B)Specifications:
UHF 470-870 MHz
VHF 47-230 MHz

The main body of the unit, not including protrusion for connectors and mounts is about 4 3/16" wide x 7 9/16" high x 1 5/8 deep.


I'm currious how such a small antenna can pick up VHF signals especially low VHF. Unless the signal is pretty strong to begin with. In which case a simple set of rabbit ears would suffice.

C) The antenna features state-of-the-art low noise amplifier technology and circuits for the best reception

yet doesn't state the NF for the amp. If it's such low noise why not state what the NF is?
BCF68 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,431
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Welcome dasher123, I have good result with HDTV Indoor/Outdoor Antenna from monoprice product #4730 (model HDA-5700).
JChin is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 05:05 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Welcome dasher123, I have good result with HDTV Indoor/Outdoor Antenna from monoprice product #4730 (model HDA-5700).

That's because you live close to the towers and have strong signals. ANY antenna would work. You could stick a paper clip in the RF connection and you'd get a signal.
BCF68 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigaDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pacific Northwest.
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

That's because you live close to the towers and have strong signals. ANY antenna would work. You could stick a paper clip in the RF connection and you'd get a signal.

Works great at five miles LOS.
LL
LL

"A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL SMELL AS SWEET. BUT IT DOES NOT FOLLOW THAT WHATEVER WE CHOOSE TO CALL A ROSE WILL POSSESS THE ROSE'S FRAGRANCE."

--Benjamin Breckinridge Warfield (1917)
DigaDo is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-10-2010, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've had good luck with Monoprice..give it a try, if it doesn't work, they will gladly take it back.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-13-2010, 12:03 PM
Member
 
eday_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am waiting for my antenna to arrive from them. I have high hopes based on the reviews from people. My current rabbit ears only pull in two HD channels, one of which constantly breaks up in the evening. I am hoping that because this antenna is amplified, it will pull all the HD channels in my area in clearly. NHL playoffs are starting tomorrow
eday_2010 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-13-2010, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
sustorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Windsor, NY
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasher123 View Post

Has anyone tried this indoor/outdoor antenna from Monoprice? any impressions? I think I am going to try it - the rabbit ears that I have right now are not consistent...seems a lot of people get good results with this even being used indoors...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

You should post your TV fool report and advise what channels you are looking for, then the experts here can steer you in the right direction

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29
sustorm is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-13-2010, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasher123 View Post

Has anyone tried this indoor/outdoor antenna from Monoprice? any impressions? I think I am going to try it - the rabbit ears that I have right now are not consistent...seems a lot of people get good results with this even being used indoors...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

I purchased one for my mother who lives ~15 miles from our antenna farm. I tried several style rabbit ears but they would all break up on one channel or another. This MP antenna works great and after getting the placement just right she has no breakups now.
I wouldn't normally think of amplifying a indoor antenna since basically the point of a amplifier is to overcome cable/splitter loss, both of which are not a factor in a simple indoor antenna, all I can say is it works for her.
Ya don't believe all the advertising hype, they are just going after people who don't know better and most is meaningless, but as long as it works I can look past it
jjeff is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-16-2010, 09:37 PM
Member
 
eday_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine arrived today and it is a definite improvement over the rabbit ears I was using. With the rabbit ears, I pulled in the French CBC HD station here in Ottawa, and the English CBC HD, which would usually break up now and then at night. That was it. Other HD channels didn't come in, and the analog signals were unwatchable.

With the new antenna, I am pulling in almost all the HD channels available here, and the analog ones are much more watchable. I haven't even tried to find the best location for it yet in the living room.

I was a bit sad that the amplifier had to be plugged between the cable from the antenna and the TV to work, since I wanted to avoid having another thing plugged in at that end. But if it works, it works!
eday_2010 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off