Multiple TVs off DirecTV DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2010, 05:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
GMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to be able to connect 2 or 3 TV's off of a single DirecTV DVR. I know I will have to watch the same thing on all TVs but that is not a problem. All TVs will be HD with HDMI connections. The most important one is next to the DVR and I will use HDMI, the farthest one is about 150 feet.

I will certainly need a splitter of some sort. Does it have to be amplified? I don't think I can snake a pre-terminated HDMI cable where I want. Do they sell wire that you can add the plugs to? (I don't think so). Can I use CAT 5 or 6?
GMartin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2010, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try here - http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forumdisplay.php?f=36

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oktoberrust11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You very well may have issues @ 150' with HDMI. The longest HDMI cable I've seen with anyone having success with it is this one from monoprice, which has equalizers built in to compensate for the length, however, monoprice's own description states "*NOTE: Direct TV users - HDMI cables at this length may not be compatible with your device."

You may want to look at using component for the longest run, or perhaps HDMI over cat 6 or 6a converters. If you just have two TV's to hook up, you could use HDMI for the close one and component for the long one, and you wouldn't need any type of HDMI splitter/switcher, as all outputs are active at the same time on the DirecTV receiver.

Matt

Xbox Live: oktober rust | Mii: 5207 2388 9861 4135 | Steam ID: detroit820 | Origin ID: oktoberrust11
oktoberrust11 is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 09:04 PM
Newbie
 
sandyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It'll cost more, of course, but to run it 150 feet, I'd just go with an additional HD receiver and DirecTV's DECA SWiM or my own Ethernet. That way, length shouldn't be a problem, and you can also control both playback and recording from the remote TV. It will also let you watch two different recorded programs from the same DVR at the same time.
sandyh is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off