adapting a VHF antenna / aerial for UHF? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-18-2010, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I've searched around and I haven't been able to find any information or mention of how to DIY adapt a VHF aerial for better UHF reception.

I've got a large old VHF aerial that has good reception over the VHF and lower half of the UHF frequencies but I'd like to adapt it to improve the reception in the 660mhz to 775mhz range.

Is there any way this can be done? Would it require specific types of wire?

Thanks for any help
homerging is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-18-2010, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post

I've searched around and I haven't been able to find any information or mention of how to DIY adapt a VHF aerial for better UHF reception.

I've got a large old VHF aerial that has good reception over the VHF and lower half of the UHF frequencies but I'd like to adapt it to improve the reception in the 660mhz to 775mhz range.

Is there any way this can be done? Would it require specific types of wire?

Thanks for any help

You'd be many miles ahead just by adding a separate UHF antenna via a U/V diplexer rather than trying to re-engineer an existing antenna for something it was never intend for.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-18-2010, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerging View Post

...I've got a large old VHF aerial that has good reception over the VHF and lower half of the UHF frequencies but I'd like to adapt it to improve the reception in the 660mhz to 775mhz range.

Is there any way this can be done?

Not really.

Easier to just add a UHF antenna and combine it with your VHF antenna.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?mc=03&p=HD-9022

You may need a bigger one than this, depending on your TVFool results for your address.
http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...id=13&Itemid=1
arxaw is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-19-2010, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
homerging's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks but I am not in the US. Buying a new aerial would not be cheap. I do already get reception in the higher UHF band, I just would like to improve it a notch, so a Edward Scissorhands reshaping of the existing aerial wasn't what I had in mind.
homerging is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-19-2010, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If I were determined to add some UHF performance to a VHF only antenna at minimum expense, I would try connecting a UHF loop directly on the 300 ohm feed terminals and position the loop perpendicular to the broadcast towers, (hanging straight down) It would need to be secured by some means so that the wind would not blow it out of position.
Mister B is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off