Wireless Coaxial cable extender? HDTV antenna in attic without wires? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-04-2010, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, so I'm not sure if what I'm looking for even makes sense.

I have a pretty nice HDTV antenna that I'd like to put up in my attic to get better reception and stop the signal from going "in-and-out" when I walk by it in my bedroom.

Also, I have 3 HDTVs in my house, and I'd like to have one antenna feed all of them.

I was just up in my attic for a short while and realized it was going to be nearly impossible to run a coaxial cable down to living room (not to mention split into the other 2 TVs) without professional help.

Is there some sort of Coaxial wireless transmitter/receiver system that can help here? Could it even handle the bandwidth of the HDTV UHF signal? All of my TVs have built-in HDTV tuners, so all I need is the raw UHF signal feed wirelessly extended into those locations with 3 separate receivers (with the transmitter in the attic).

It seems like a straightforward thing that should exist, but I couldn't find anything other than this: http://www.rflinkusa.com/products_ACS5820.html, and I don't even think this would work.

So am I stuck getting someone to run the cable... is this a crazy idea?

Thanks for any responses.
greenmile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-04-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Initially... you need to be sure that your antenna and it's installation will work properly to receive the anticipated channels.

Secondly, if that works as anticipated, pay to have coax run professionally (if it's out of your expertise).

You probably could do no worse of a job than 90% of the cable/satellite installers if you do it yourself.
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-06-2010, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
greenmile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it sounds like what I'm asking for isn't actually a "thing". There's no way to repeat an OTA antenna signal wirelessly from my attic to several TVs?
greenmile is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-06-2010, 09:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Correct. AFAIK, there's no inexpensive/practical hardware to demodulate/remodulate an OTA (ATSC) signal to one or more TV's wired or wireless.
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-18-2010, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
mj1pate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, there seem to be a few products explicitly for wirelessly extending HDTV. "Affordablilty" may be relative to how much labor it saves you. I have similar issues.

Brite-View BV-2500 HD Wireless Video Transmitter/ Receiver Set
mj1pate is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-18-2010, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
mj1pate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Truthfully, there seem to be plenty of sources for wireless HDTV signal transceiver systems. search in amazon.com for "wireless hd video transmitter"
prices start at the mid-200s and gp upwards.
mj1pate is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-18-2010, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 417
That can work for extending signals for HDMI (or component) from source A to destination B, but for an antenna (RF) it will not work for the OP's desires.
Ratman is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-18-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mj1pate View Post

Truthfully, there seem to be plenty of sources for wireless HDTV signal transceiver systems. search in amazon.com for "wireless hd video transmitter"
prices start at the mid-200s and gp upwards.

You do not understand what the OP question is. The products you refer to will not do what he wants.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 09-18-2010, 10:05 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Your best bet is to fish (or have someone fish) the lines through closets, return air plenums or whatever it takes to get lines to the rooms in question. Where there's a will, there's a way, especially if you own the house. Or break down, put an antenna on the roof, run a line down an outside wall to the basement (if you have one) and work from there. It can be time consuming, but it's generally not that hard. And if you mess up and misdrill a hole, it's nothing some drywall mud and paint won't fix.

I'm guessing there's never been cable run to the rooms in question?

You could try a passive repeater idea by hooking two yagis together.. one pointing at the towers and the other one pointing in the general direction of your television. But the odds of that succeeding are next to nil. I've used passives to "bend" signals over a hill, before, but I kinda doubt it'd work in an attic.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 09-21-2010, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
zergedintpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could always go with a Network tuner like Silicon Dust's HDHomeRun, stick it in the attic with your antenna and a wireless access point, and now you have OTA on anything tied into your home network. Just be prepared to replace that equipment in the attic more often then usual, attic heat will kill them faster.
zergedintpa is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 09-21-2010, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Attic heat and cold is only one consideration. Personally, I wouldn't suggest it.

He would also need a "wireless" or "wired" ethernet presence at each TV. Additionally, if you have a dual tuner HDHR, the third TV will not have independant channel selection.

IMHO, by the time you consider the environmental risks to the attic hardware and the additional hardware to support each TV (ethernet to RF), hiring a professional to run coax would possibly be more cost effective.
Ratman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off