Emergency Alert System (EAS) - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 36 Old 11-09-2011, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 6,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Not too sure how well it worked in the SF Bay Area. Internet radio went off for about 15 sec, then you could hear "Are we back on?", then full radio service was restored. Seemed the whole "test" took about 20 seconds, not 3-5 minutes as one of the press releases said. Guess that's why they called it a test
Otto Pylot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 36 Old 11-09-2011, 01:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

DirecTV also had an EAS slate, and said the emergency was for Washington, DC. Funny, that part shouldn't have been labeled a test.

Weren't the OWS'ers supposed to start converging there today?

Maybe someone's trying to scare them.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #33 of 36 Old 11-09-2011, 08:42 PM
Member
 
a68oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast Cable in Anderson Indiana headend apparently failed the test. I set my Tivo to record two different cable channels, Discovery HD and CNN HD. Discovery ran a crawl at the top of the screen prior to the supposed test and after the test to warn us of what was about to happen and had just happened. However, no test pre-empted programming in any fashion. Same thing happened with CNN minus the pre and post test warnings.

I guess I am dead from whatever the emergency was. LOL

Alan Oliver
Tivo user since May 2000
a68oliver is offline  
post #34 of 36 Old 11-10-2011, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coyoteaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CableCARD devices are only supposed to have EAS triggered during live viewing, not during recordings.

I have an HDHomeRun PRIME on FiOS, and its log shows EAS messages. This is what it showed for today:
CableCARD: message: THIS IS ONLY A TEST... A Primary Entry Point System has issued an Emergency Action Notification for the following counties: District of Columbia DC. Effective Until 11/09/11 13:18:00 CST. (VHO1 )... THIS IS ONLY A TES

Normal EAS tests show a directed channel change to QAM channel 63.101:
CableCARD: message: An EAS Participant has issued a Required Weekly Test - tune to channel 63.101
coyoteaz is offline  
post #35 of 36 Old 11-10-2011, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Would be nice if that were true, but you have to put Tivos in standby to avoid EAS interruptions when recording.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #36 of 36 Old 11-10-2011, 02:50 PM
Member
 
a68oliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New Castle, IN
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post

Would be nice if that were true, but you have to put Tivos in standby to avoid EAS interruptions when recording.

I agree. I know I have seen EAS tests on recordings before.

Alan Oliver
Tivo user since May 2000
a68oliver is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off