Annoying "crackling" noises on NBC shows? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 10-15-2010, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone else hear annoying "crackling" noises on some HD programs, notably on NBC? The best I can describe it is a quick crackling noise (almost like a busted speaker or something...crackling, sparking...those are the terms that come to mind) that occurs often throughout the show (like every 5-10 seconds...unbelievably annoying).

I have been noticing it more and more, and last night on 30 Rock almost made me go crazy. I only notice it on NBC shows. It is VERY bad for me during "The Event".

Set-up is FIOS DVR hooked up via HDMI to Samsung TV (UN55C6800).

I'm no audio expert, but I am assuming it is not my TV speakers at fault because:
1) if i rewind the show and play it again, the crackling will occur at the exact same time
2) i only notice it on NBC shows
3) my old TV that was hooked up to the same DVR but via component cables did the same thing, again only on NBC shows (was horrible on "Persons Unknown")

am i going crazy, or could something NBC (or my DVR) is doing actually be causing this crackling noise?
I found this old thread when i searched for this problem:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ight=crackling
seems similar, although that thread is more than 2 years old

(Specific example: last night's 30 Rock...7 minutes in, right when Kenneth points to the "Im with stupid shirt" there is bad crackling)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-15-2010, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
My guess would be that FIOS has an issue with however they receive your local NBC affiliate's signal, or it's your local affiliate themselves. It's definitely not originating from NBC at a national level.

I would suggest looking here for a thread relating to your area to see if others around you are having the same problem.
post #3 of 10 Old 10-15-2010, 12:38 PM