Low priced ATSC modulator, non rack mount design. What's available? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 39 Old 12-30-2010, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post

Yes, we do Pro Idiom feeds here in Charlotte, Yes I have done several dozen, PM me off line if you want to know how its set-up,delievered and what channels we are pushing out.

Rob

I could use some clarification here. When you say, "we", do you mean the franchised cable company? And if so, then you would seem to need to allocate significant bandwidth to distribute what is redundant programming. And to what end? In other words, have the programmers refused to allow your cable company to distribute MPEG2 HDTV programming directly to hotel TVs using your industry-standard, cable-card compatible, encryption and are instead forcing you to use Pro:Idiom?
AntAltMike is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 39 Old 12-30-2010, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

I could use some clarification here. When you say, "we", do you mean the franchised cable company? And if so, then you would seem to need to allocate significant bandwidth to distribute what is redundant programming. And to what end? In other words, have the programmers refused to allow your cable company to distribute MPEG2 HDTV programming directly to hotel TVs using your industry-standard, cable-card compatible, encryption and are instead forcing you to use Pro:Idiom?

We don't have to allocate any Bandwidth, we can make up any channel line up for any node we want. All of our content is distributed via fiber to each hub and we use Cisco Gateways to get the content via RF.

Basically if we have the need to feed a residential neighborhood or a Hotel the channels line ups and content can be whatever we want.

The days of the old Head-End and specific content are over,SDV and VOD taught us alot cool things and than it became a what if.? And someone listened and said OK.

Rob

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #33 of 39 Old 11-01-2011, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 160
How about a QAM modulator?;

http://www.hollandelectronics.com/ca...QAM-Modulators

Anyone know the price?

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #34 of 39 Old 11-01-2011, 06:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

How about a QAM modulator?;

http://www.hollandelectronics.com/ca...QAM-Modulators

Anyone know the price?

It's a ZeeVee HD Bridge series. They have been around awhile, but I've seen the ZVBox product and I'm not impressed. Specifically it looks like it drops frames of video.

Maybe the HD Bridge series is better. Pricing and details:
http://audio-video-supply.markertek....casting/Zeevee

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #35 of 39 Old 04-25-2012, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Saw this at NAB last week..For those of you looking for an ATSC Encoder Modulator...it finally exists! It's made by Tv Logic and is a model # HEM-100. List price is $5400.

http://www.tvlogic.tv/Systems/S_Spec.asp?sidx=1

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #36 of 39 Old 04-25-2012, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,319
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I don't think I would exactly consider that "low price".

.
.
Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way. If you like Wi-Fi so much, OTA fits right in. After all, it is wireless.
videobruce is offline  
post #37 of 39 Old 04-25-2012, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Don't know how long it's been around or price range, but there's also this one: http://www.meldtech.com/ Different philosophy and implementation, but a bit similar.

I've been told we're supposed to get one here at the office to play with sometime....

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #38 of 39 Old 04-25-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

I don't think I would exactly consider that "low price".

Compared to what I pay for professional ATSC gear..it's a bargain. Tho I question how well this will sell at that price..tho I'd venture the price is driven more by Zenith/ATSC and Dolby licensing agreements than hardware costs.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #39 of 39 Old 04-26-2012, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jtbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinton, SC
Posts: 3,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post

http://www.meldtech.com/ Different philosophy and implementation,

Just the thing to blast your local "white space" with.

Doesn't look like it even has a coax output.
jtbell is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off