Directional Antenna into router HELP! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 02-11-2011, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been wanting to purchase a 24dbi Directional grid antenna and mount it on top of my home(approximately 15-20ft high) and run the cable into the house. Is there any way possible that I can connect the antenna into a wireless box and have the signal shot around in the house? I have the 1000mw usb adapter to my laptop and i want to make it wireless in the house.
Is this possible to do? and if so,whats the best way to do this. Please help.
andrey64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 02-12-2011, 06:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No. You need to run coax.
arxaw is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 02-12-2011, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Tschmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milford, NH
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a little confused by what you are asking.

1) Are you trying to connect a high gain external antenna to a Wifi adapter to increase wireless network range?
2) This is an HDTV forum. Is the antenna to pick up over the air (OTA) TV programs?
3) Something else.
Tschmidt is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 02-13-2011, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JimboG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'll take a stab at this. You could connect your over the air TV tuner to an HD Homerun tuner and then send the TV signal from the Homerun over your network.

Free over the air HDTV + Tivo HD + Netflix for Blu-ray and streaming = Bliss
JimboG is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 02-14-2011, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tschmidt View Post
I'm a little confused by what you are asking.

1) Are you trying to connect a high gain external antenna to a Wifi adapter to increase wireless network range?
2) This is an HDTV forum. Is the antenna to pick up over the air (OTA) TV programs?
3) Something else.

What i am trying to do is connect this antenna so that i can get my friends wifi(about 1/2 mile) so i can watch tv online. is this possible to somehow instead of having it only go to one computer,have it into a wireless box that i can connect to wirelessllythough my laptop.

yes i know its an HDTV post, but nobody else knows more about topics like this then people likke you guys.
andrey64 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 02-14-2011, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I think you might be able to do what you want with an ATSC tuner (STB), a Slingbox, and a wireless bridge. Good luck with your friend's wifi being a 1/2 mile way, though.
Colm is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 02-14-2011, 11:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
weelli can catch a bar through my laptop
andrey64 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 02-15-2011, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrey64 View Post

Is there any way possible that I can connect the antenna into a wireless box and have the signal shot around in the house?

Buy two of these: http://www.streakwave.com/Itemdesc.a...letM5HP&eq=&Tp
Get a pair of 5.8 GHz directional antennas. http://www.streakwave.com/Itemdesc.a...D53-21&eq=&Tp=
Aim them at each other. Pick locations that can see each other. Plug one end into your neighbors router using a hard wired Ethernet cable, plug the other into your wireless router.

You will also need a pair of Power over Ethernet (POE) adapters. http://www.streakwave.com/mmSWAVE1/V..._Datasheet.pdf
Tower Guy is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 02-15-2011, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just want to capture his wifi without having to install anything at his place too. i want to capture it and connect to a computer. the question im asking is that i want to capture it and make a wifi spot inside my house while connected to his network.
andrey64 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 02-16-2011, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrey64 View Post

i just want to capture his wifi without having to install anything at his place too. i want to capture it and connect to a computer. the question im asking is that i want to capture it and make a wifi spot inside my house while connected to his network.

You need more than just an antenna. This device claims to do what you need, but real life implementation may not solve your problem.

http://electrodisc.com/linksys-wrt16...SD&language=en

Here's a story about the process. http://lifehacker.com/#!178132/hack-...o-a-600-router

You really need a device with two antennas, one aimed at your neighbor's, the other inside your house. They must be on different channels. Most routers come programmed for channel 6. The only non overlapping channels are 1 or 11. I don't know if you can use two routers back to back to achieve the same goal.
Tower Guy is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 02-16-2011, 08:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrey64 View Post
i just want to capture his wifi without having to install anything at his place too. i want to capture it and connect to a computer. the question im asking is that i want to capture it and make a wifi spot inside my house while connected to his network.
Does "your friend" know you're trying to utilize his WiFi/internet connection?
If he's on-board, then he has to install an antenna/x-mitter to boost the signal. Which you should purchase.

If you're trying to just get a "free" signal, how do know he doesn't have/use security (wep/wpa) to lock out unauthorized access?
Ratman is online now  
post #12 of 22 Old 02-16-2011, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes he is my friend. the reason idont want to install it from his side it that its going to cost me extra money i dont have. he has no wep pass because i am able to log into his network with very weak signal from my front yard. i have a clear line of site.
andrey64 is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 02-16-2011, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

No. You need to run coax.

i dont need coax.i need lmr 400 to not lose the ghz
andrey64 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 02-16-2011, 03:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 301
1) he should use wireless security
2) radios in wireless has it's distance limitation(s)
3) your choices are antennas or run a 1/2 mile of Cat6 from his house to yours.

Either way... it will cost you.
Maybe you should just get your own internet connection/provider.
Ratman is online now  
post #15 of 22 Old 02-17-2011, 05:06 AM
 
serndipity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marblehead
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You said that your laptop is receiving the signal with 1 bar.

If the laptop's antenna has no gain, the 24 dB antenna will increase the signal power by 256 times. Aiming will be important as the beam width will be very narrow.

You may or may not require a low noise antenna pre-amplifier (e.g. must be capable of amplifying signals in the GHz range).

To get the signal into your laptop, connect the above to a 2nd antenna, located near the laptop.
serndipity is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 02-17-2011, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by serndipity View Post

You said that your laptop is receiving the signal with 1 bar.

If the laptop's antenna has no gain, the 24 dB antenna will increase the signal power by 256 times. Aiming will be important as the beam width will be very narrow.

You may or may not require a low noise antenna pre-amplifier (e.g. must be capable of amplifying signals in the GHz range).

To get the signal into your laptop, connect the above to a 2nd antenna, located near the laptop.

thank u serndipity . awesome. finally someone who actually gives a good a good answer. i have the 24dbi grid. should i get the alfa or a friend of mine actually has a pannel antenna he bought for like 150. supposedly its better cuz its a 20dbi antenna plus its got a built in ralink 30dbi adapter. what should i use?
andrey64 is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 02-17-2011, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Looks like you think you're on the right track. Let us know how it works out.
Ratman is online now  
post #18 of 22 Old 02-17-2011, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks alot everyone.
andrey64 is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 02-18-2011, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tower Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Altamont, NY
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrey64 View Post

yes he is my friend. he has no wep pass because i am able to log into his network with very weak signal from my front yard. i have a clear line of site.

You are taking unfair advantage of your neighbor. I'm sorry that I offered any suggestions.
Tower Guy is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 02-18-2011, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
andrey64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post

You are taking unfair advantage of your neighbor. I'm sorry that I offered any suggestions.

i actually ended up taking an old panel antenna and plugging it in at his home and using another at my house. so im not taking advantage.
andrey64 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 02-18-2011, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I still don't think this is the proper forum for this question..that said, carry on.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is online now  
post #22 of 22 Old 02-18-2011, 01:30 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,745
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDonoughDawg View Post

I still don't think this is the proper forum for this question..that said, carry on.

I think you're right. Probably should be in HTPC or streaming area. That said, looks like it's run its course, anyway. Thread closed.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Closed Thread HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off