HDMI V1.2 vs. V1.3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-19-2011, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope I am in the right place for this question. I am setting up a system with both a 50" Plasma, and a 92" Front Projector that will drop down in front of the plasma. I need to route signals to both the plasma and the projector. I have decided that a 4x2 HDMI Matrix Switch is the best way to do this. I am not willing to drop a GRAND on a DVDO iScan Duo, (twice what I paid for my projector) since I don't need all the scaling/processing anyway because I will be letting my Oppo BDP-83SE do the scaling. I have narrowed my search down to a used Gefen EXT-HDMI-442 or something like a Monoprice 4x2 True Matrix switch. My question is, Would I be better off going with the Gefen which is obviously better quality but is 5X more expensive than the Monoprice and only V1.2 compliant, or the Monoprice which is WAY cheaper, and V1.3 compliant. As far as I can tell, the only thing I might loose with the Gefen is support for "Deep-Color." (However important that is) My projector is a Sanyo PLV-Z700. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Jeff
Jeff K. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-19-2011, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Go least expensive switch and "high speed" HDMI cables. I'm not aware of any devices that use "deep color" at this time.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just looked up the specs, and it turns out that both the Oppo and the Sanyo support Deep-Color so maybe I should stick with V1.3 products.
Jeff K. is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Not sure I 'get' Deep Colo(u)r unless you have a camcorder that supports it.

All current broadcast TV and pre-recorded optical media is plain-old 8 bit 4:2:0 YCrCb (16-234/26-240) - so unless you are shooting your own deep colo(u)r content - what is going to be the benefit of having it? (Same argument holds for xvycc doesn't it?)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 09:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
I probably should have not said "devices" that use deep color. It's more accurate that although newer hardware may "support" deep color, most recorded/broadcst material(s) does not provide deep color content.

" It is extremely important to understand that every movie that was ever transferred to a DVD or other digital format has been transferred using 8-bit color depth. While the newest Deep Color format might give an improvement in the quality of the picture, there is no content currently available, no archived material, no movies, and no TV shows, that can be trans-coded easily into the new system. With the current problems of Digital Rights Management (DRM) and High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) just starting to be worked out, it is highly unlikely that the entertainment industry and Hollywood will hurry to produce software that is an exact copy of the original movie quality. The first place Deep Color will be used is in advanced gaming systems, starting with the Playstation 3 in November 2006."
http://www.abccables.com/info-deep-color.html
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 40
That quote may not be 100% accurate.

Whilst pre-recorded optical media releases and digital TV broadcasts to the home use 8 bit - there are some broadcast sources that use 10bit within production and mastering areas. (HD Cam SR supports 10 bit 4:2:2, as do the HD-SDI and SDI interconnect specs. I can't remember if DigiBeta is 10bit on-tape or just for interconnect - I think it is 10 bit on tape)

However there is no current mainstream route to get this 10bit content to the home viewer - so no current domestic source (other than domestic camcorders and games consoles) can exploit Deep Colo(u)r.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

However there is no current mainstream route to get this 10bit content to the home viewer - so no current domestic source (other than domestic camcorders and games consoles) can exploit Deep Colo(u)r.

Though I think there are some receivers that can "upscale" (ie. smooth out) an 8-bit source to "deep colour" / higher bit-depth to smooth out banding but it's not real higher bit-depths/colour it's just guessing.
Joe Bloggs is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-20-2011, 11:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

That quote may not be 100% accurate. .

Even so... it's 99% accurate.
Close enough for govenment work.

To note: That was written quite a while ago and 4 years later... still waiting.
Ratman is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-21-2011, 05:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Jeff K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does anybody know about HDTV Supply? They have a couple of affordable Matrix Switches where you can set your own EDID info, and they have IR repeaters built in so I can control my projector which is behind the wall!
Jeff K. is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off