Comcast and the Motorola DCH3416 HD DVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-30-2011, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wmackey73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

I have Comcast cable television and a HD DVR. I pay $16/month rent for the HD DVR. The DVR is a Motorola DCH3416. I found one online for $50.00. It is identical with same model number as the one I am renting.

I called Comcast and the non-tech savvy, customer service person said that it will not work.

Now, I cannot believe this to be true. There must be a fairly worthwhile way to make this happen.

Any assistance is appreciated.

WM
wmackey73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-30-2011, 02:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
homcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Believe it.

No US cable company will authorize a cable box like the DCH 3416. They are not sold to the public in the US, so the box is either from Canada or stolen.

Only consumer purchasable units like cable card based Tivo and Moxi would be able to be used.
homcom is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-30-2011, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wmackey73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by homcom View Post

Believe it.

No US cable company will authorize a cable box like the DCH 3416. They are not sold to the public in the US, so the box is either from Canada or stolen.

Only consumer purchasable units like cable card based Tivo and Moxi would be able to be used.

Thank you Sir, for the timely reply.

I have looked into Tivo and they charge a monthly fee also. So that alternative would not suite my particular needs.

It seems with Moxi, the only option is to spend $600 on the 3-Tuner HD DVR. It looks like a fantastic product. It is quite spendy. I might just buy one.

Thanks again.

WM
wmackey73 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off