Channel Plus 5415 HD modulator? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 05-01-2011, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
I see listings for a Channel Plus 5415HD single channel modulator which appears to accept 720P component video input

anyone have any experience with this? I know there is a 5415 SD unit but the one I am looking at has an HD suffix and a list price of $1k

I am looking for an HD modulator at a reasonable price

TIA
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 05-01-2011, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wendell R. Breland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

I see listings for a Channel Plus 5415HD single channel modulator which appears to accept 720P component video input

The Channel Plus site does not show this model so we have no real info on what it can do. How do you expect to feed such a unit (HDMI, Component, file from computer, etc.)?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wendell R. Breland is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 05-01-2011, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

I am looking for an HD modulator at a reasonable price

TIA

Mark, using the ZeeVee at work..pleased with it so far:

http://www.zeevee.com/residential/zvbox170

Contemporary Research also makes some nice units:

http://www.crwww.com/QMOD-HD.asp

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 05-01-2011, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
^^^

Thanks Bob: I was looking at these too

have you noticed if the ZeeVee fan is noisy?
markrubin is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 05-01-2011, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

have you noticed if the ZeeVee fan is noisy?

Not really, as it is in a room full of really noisy equipment..but I am sure it is quiet compared to the Tandberg and Harmonic QAM moduoators it lives with..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 05-21-2011, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some photos of the 5415HD:

Front

Rear

It has YPbPr input, S/PDIF input, RF output, and a USB port.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 05-23-2011, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual for the 5415HD states that the YPbPr input accepts 480i, 480p, and 720p60. It does not accept 1080i. The S/PDIF input accepts 48kHz PCM and AC-3 pass-through. Also, I was told that the MPEG2 output is 720p30 (not 720p60, so it discards half the frames, thus motion is less smooth, and movies are converted from 2-3-2-3 cadence to a jerkier 2-4-2-2).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 05-24-2011, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Price and Avails?

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 05-24-2011, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post

Price and Avails?

looks like around $600.00 online: but beware if you do a search it may give you the 5415 which is the generic SD modulator for around $60.00.

I am using 2 Channel Plus SVM-24 modulators (4 modulated channels each) into a Channel Plus DA-550 distribution amp and they do pretty well: but am looking for a cost effective way to feed HD throughout the house mainly for distributing DirecTV. The boxes are set for 1080i so the 5415HD might not accept the component video out (right now I use the S video out of the D* box)

The 5415HD looks like it may provide some marginal improvement but perhaps not enough to warrant the cost: strange that no one seems to have experience with this device
markrubin is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 05-24-2011, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I have one of these at home..I feed it with the SD anamorphic outputs from my Directv receivers..Not HD but excellent quality. And very hard to find for
the $800 I paid for it.

 

Harmonic RSG 8012 QAM Mod Manual.pdf 292.830078125k . file

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 06-15-2011, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
Jack Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using a ZVBox 150 for a number of years now. It's rated as a consumer vs. commercial grade QAM HD Modulator and limited to 720P input via component video source. That didn't seem to be a limitation to me when I first acquired the 'box' because, WTF, remote TV's located around the house are typically smaller (screen size) than the master set atop my home entertainment system. So, 720P is just fine, right? WRONG!!!

I quickly discovered that virtually all video sources (set top boxes, DVD players, BluRay, Etc.) sport multiple connections on their rear panel including HD via HDMI and HD via component video. These low end QAM modulators use component input (I think that's to skirt MPEG ownership of the programming that doesn't exist when dealing with base band) and you can't feed them above their 720p rating.

Now, while the picture stream source has different interfaces on the rear panel, it looks like there's only ONE HD video generator inside. That means you can NOT drive a local TV at say, 1080i/1080p via HDMI AND feed the QAM modulator at 720p simultaneously!!!

Yes, I have a component audio/video 'spliter' (push button selector; 3-in, 1-out) that let's me pick and choose what HD video source drives the ZV modulator (DVD player, Bluray player, Dish Network STB). But, the unintended consequence of connecting a given source to the HD modulator is that the HDMI link from that source to my 70-inch primary TV throttles back to 720P in lock-step!!!
Jack Humphrey is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 06-30-2011, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A user posted this review of the 5415HD.

http://www.amazon.com/review/R2V1RYT...tag=&linkCode=


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-30-2011, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Eric

Thank you for the link: I was aware of the 720 limitation and decided to wait for a better solution: the report of fan noise is a deal breaker for me by itself
markrubin is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-30-2011, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I inquired about the manual from Linearcorp and got this response:

Good Morning ,
i do ndot have the manual you are looking for .
Please contact the Marker-Tech company
______________________________________

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-30-2011, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
there is a PDF connection diagram on Markertek site (typical application diagram)

http://www.markertek.com/CATV-Headen...s/5415HD.xhtml
markrubin is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 07-04-2011, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the manual.

http://linearcorp.com/pdf/manuals/5415HD_Manual.pdf


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 06-07-2012, 05:08 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
these modulators are now available from Amazon for around $675.00...got one to check out


hooked it up to the component video out (and digital audio out) of a DirecTV DVR and set its output to 720P: previously the box was set at 480i to feed a Channel Plus S video modulator

The signal is fed to 10 small/ medium size TV's in my house (I feed some larger TV's with 1080 HD via HDbaseT feeds)

I set the modulator to house channel 107: each TV required a channel rescan and saw the modulator as channel 107-1: noticeably better PQ with this modulator than with the 480i solution: I love it

only drawback is the fan noise: this little box has a very loud fan in it ( ZVbox also has a fan I think)

All in all for the money it seems like a nice HD solution
markrubin is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 06-07-2012, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AntAltMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

The signal is fed to 10 small/ medium size TV's in my house

All in all for the money it seems like a nice HD solution

...if all ten of you want to watch the same show at the same time...
AntAltMike is online now  
post #19 of 21 Old 06-08-2012, 04:12 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntAltMike View Post

...if all ten of you want to watch the same show at the same time...

I have another SD modulator that provides more channels
markrubin is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 06-08-2012, 04:14 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
more

opening up the Ch Plus modulator: at least one board says ZeeVee Inc on it....
markrubin is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 06-09-2012, 03:56 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,905
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 360
I see the issue with fan noise: they use a 40 x 10 mm PC fan (12 volt 2 wire) which is right below the processor chip which runs pretty hot

the fan is so close to the chip that a lot of fan noise is created: and the opening for the fan inlet is partially blocked by the integrated guard

for now I mounted the fan on the outside of the cabinet and it reduced the noise to acceptable levels: will come up with a permanent solution soon
markrubin is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off