Help need on TV antenna amplification - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > HDTV Technical > Help need on TV antenna amplification

HDTV Technical

urge26's Avatar urge26
08:31 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 4
05-04-2011 | Posts: 9
Hey guys, I'm looking for some help and I don't really know where to turn with this or if there is anything I can do.

Here is my situation. I've got DirecTV and I'm looking to run both satellite and OTA on the same cable runs in the house.

So I ordered some diplexers from Solid Signal (Perfect Vision PVDP3 High Grade Diplexer (PVDP3)) and built a coat hanger antenna (such as www.tvantennaplans.com).

We've got a tri-level home, so over the weekend I headed up to the attic to install everything.

Ok, I'm going to sound like a complete newb without details, but I can get them if needed. We've got 3 televisions in the home that are hooked up to DirecTV, all in HD. When I went up to the attic, I noticed that there are two cables going from the satellite dish into the internal cabling of the home. Unhooked one of the cables and the television upstairs went out, unhooked the other cable and the television in the lowest level went out. The third cable going from the Satellite dish to the kitchen is a separate run not going through the attic, so that explains the other television. So I'm good with identifying all of the cable runs, I just don't know the length of all of them.

So here is the first test I ran.

Upstairs television

- Hooked up coat hanger antenna to the antenna port of the diplexer, satellite cable to the satellite port. Hook up another diplexer on the television side.
- First I checked satellite and that was working great, no problems.
- Second I did a scan on the antenna side. Scan worked perfect picked up all stations in Dayton, all stations in Cincinnati, and the stations in Oxford. In fact it picked up more than what Antennaweb.org said that I was capable of, so I really really pleased so far.