Terk55 Power Amplifier or Antenna Problem? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-16-2011, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
neverrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please tell me how I could check the power amplifier on my Terk55 antenna with a meter. I statred having problems with the reception and I don't know if it's the power amplifier or the antenna.
Output:9vDC
100mA

Thanks in advance.
neverrude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-17-2011, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I'm assuming you mean the power supply.
Place one probe on one of the wires, the other probe on the other wire, and read the voltage.
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JimboG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had a Terk TV55 some years ago. It was an overpriced piece of junk.

Adding a cheap amplifier to a simple dipole is not the best way to make a quality antenna.

If you would like, you can post your TV Fool results for your reception location and get some recommendations for an appropriate TV antenna that will work better and cost less than the TV55.

Free over the air HDTV + Tivo HD + Netflix for Blu-ray and streaming = Bliss
JimboG is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-18-2011, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,256
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

I'm assuming you mean the power supply.
Place one probe on one of the wires, the other probe on the other wire, and read the voltage.

To elaborate...
If you or a friend has a multimeter, test the DC output voltage of the power supply. Set to "DCV" and place the red probe on center and black probe of the outside. If it reads ~ 9VDC, the power supply is good.

If your reception suddenly went to crap and the power supply tests "good", then the amplifier (the bullet/injector) is bad.
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-20-2011, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
neverrude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did as you said and found it was the power supply. I replaced it and it works perfect again.

Thank you gentlemen
neverrude is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off