DVi (or HDMI) to SDI input converter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
I have a LCD studio monitor with a unusable (to me) SDI input with no DVI or HDMI inputs (only component, S video & composite). Forget the ones in the $1k and up range. Is there anything under $300? No audio needed, one way only (not bi-directional).

All I found so far are these;
http://www.atlona.com/Atlona-HDMI-to...Converter.html
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...P1GGNFGXGQJHGT

and these the cheapest so far;
http://www.markertek.com/Video-Equip...?TV1-1T-FC-766

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Is the input SDI or HD-SDI?

If it is SDI - do you want to run a custom 720x480/60Hz (or 720x576/50Hz if in Europe) interlaced desktop resolution, or do you want to run at a higher resolution and scan convert to SDI resolution?
sneals2000 is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
It's labeled:
" SDI (HD/SD)
SDI (compatible with HD/SD automatic switching)"
The panel is a 1280x768, so I guess that makes it a HD-SDI input.

The monitor is a Panny BT-LH1700W It accepts 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i & 1080p (among a few other odd resolutions).

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Tony Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.markertek.com/Video-Equip....xhtml?DV-DAC9

Under $400, but not $300. I didn't think there would be so few low dollar choices.

Sony 60a3000, Denon 3802, Oppo 83, Toshiba HD-XA2, Tannoy Saturn 8's, Tannoy PS-350 sub, and some legacy stuff. Samsung PN51D530 Plasma & PS3 in the other room.
Tony Rox is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
$50 more than the TV One 1T-FC-766.

What's so expensive about the SDI part??

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Tony Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

$50 more than the TV One 1T-FC-766.

What's so expensive about the SDI part??

My guess would be because of it's almost exclusive pro usage. The theater I work in has both single mode and multi mode fiber, sdi, and component at all our patch panels, and it rarely gets used. When we do boxing or MMA, the trucks string their own cable of choice and don't even use our system. In fact, the two Lightning 40sx house projectors are fed by Magenta cat5 baluns.

Good luck.

Sony 60a3000, Denon 3802, Oppo 83, Toshiba HD-XA2, Tannoy Saturn 8's, Tannoy PS-350 sub, and some legacy stuff. Samsung PN51D530 Plasma & PS3 in the other room.
Tony Rox is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Rox View Post

My guess would be because of it's almost exclusive pro usage.

Good luck.

That's the reason.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Is that the same as having a metal cabinet and a grounded pwr. cord with the equivalent price increase over a similar consumer product??

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 07-18-2011, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Tony Rox's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

Is that the same as having a metal cabinet and a grounded pwr. cord with the equivalent price increase over a similar consumer product??

...or having white refrigerator that has a stainless steel skin.

I think you'll find a HDMI/DVI to component converter cheaper. That's what I would do.

Sony 60a3000, Denon 3802, Oppo 83, Toshiba HD-XA2, Tannoy Saturn 8's, Tannoy PS-350 sub, and some legacy stuff. Samsung PN51D530 Plasma & PS3 in the other room.
Tony Rox is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 07-19-2011, 04:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:


.or having white refrigerator that has a stainless steel skin.

But aren't those the "professional models" that professionally keep your foods cold. Great comparison. Just another 'stupid' fad that the yuppies fall for: keeping up with the Jones.

I want/need the component, I wanted to utilize the worthless (for me) SDI inputs. Even at $335, it's overpriced.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 07-21-2011, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dizzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With the conversion from HD to HD-SDI, you get what you pay for.

i work for Atlona and can state that ours does a fully compliant job.

to do HDSDI conversion well is not the cheapest.

Proud Daddy to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Born October 26 2005.

Ob was the delivery doc.

Since i cannot rant on a soapbox in the town square...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dizzman is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 07-22-2011, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Maybe not the "cheapest", but any of these are overpriced AFAIC.
Especially considering most are imported.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 07-22-2011, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I guess it's the law of supply and demand. SDI/HD-SDI chipsets are a relatively niche product (I remember evaluating first generation SDI chipsets in a former life!), so probably significantly more expensive to purchase, in small-ish volumes, than other drivers. (HD-SDI / SDI is pretty sophisticated tech as well - as it is sending high bit rate uncompressed video down much longer single feed coax cable runs than the cheaper HDMI stuff that uses multiple feeds?)

Add into that the volume sales of actual HDMI to HD-SDI/SDI converters - plus the HDCP issues (and possible requirement for scan conversion in the case of SDI) and you aren't going to find dirt-cheap solutions.

For what is a pro requirement (SDI/HD-SDI are pro connection systems) - the sub $500 price range is not unexpected.

We have a number of HDMI to HD-SDI interfaces at work - which do a straight 1080i or 720p pass-through of a non-HDCP source - but they are boards you buy to fit into a standard rack mounting enclosure (and share the PSU and control etc.) Work well for connecting PCs into broadcast infrastructure though.

I've used my Macbook connected to one via a Displayport to HDMI adaptor to play-out off-air HD recordings made in Windows Media Center to allow them to be used for editing and broadcast - under UK 'Fair Dealing - Criticism and Review' rights law. Worked very well. Much easier than trying to import a .wtv file into an Avid or FCP, and hugely higher quality than YouTube...
sneals2000 is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 02-17-2012, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Getting past the price, I understand these won't pass protected content. Does this include to just a monitor?
Also, does that include OTA network programming from a tuner or DVR?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 09:23 AM
Member
 
etk29321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Correct. SDI doesn't support HDCP signals.
etk29321 is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
So the problem is SDI itself, not the converters?? Then the sink (I think that is what they call where the signal goes) tells the device not to send or allow the video?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

So the problem is SDI itself, not the converters??

No, the problem is the HDCP on HDMI signal. Technically you could have HDMI with no HDCP and it would work in your scenario.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
How big is this monitor? $300 for a converter that only works on this monitor?


At some point, a new TV/monitor makes sense. To me anyways, maybe I'm missing something here.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 03:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDonoughDawg View Post

How big is this monitor? $300 for a converter that only works on this monitor?


At some point, a new TV/monitor makes sense. To me anyways, maybe I'm missing something here.

Sell it on ebay.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 02-22-2012, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

No, the problem is the HDCP on HDMI signal. Technically you could have HDMI with no HDCP and it would work in your scenario.

Yep - such signals aren't actually that rare - it's why HDMI->HD-SDI converters, as well as standalone recorders like the Nanoflash often have both HDMI and HD-SDI inputs.

Lower end camcorders often have HDMI rather than HD-SDI outputs, but their HDMI output doesn't contain HDCP protection, so conversion to HD-SDI is not a problem. I've also used HDMI to HD-SDI converters to record the output of PCs in the past - again with no HDCP present.

Sure, Blu-ray players and many HD set top boxes (cable, satellite etc.) have HDCP protection on their HDMI outputs, but other sources like camcorders, PCs etc. don't have to.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 02-23-2012, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
They aren't rare in a broadcast or production studio.
http://www.panasonic.com/business/pr...BT-LH1710.asp#
Their current model is over $1k more that includes a DVI input so I think $300 is a better solution.
Quote:


No, the problem is the HDCP on HDMI signal. Technically you could have HDMI with no HDCP and it would work in your scenario.

Not to get too far OT, What/where controls the 'passage' of the video (and audio) signals the sender or receiver? IOW's which end blocks the so called 'protected' video?

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 02-23-2012, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce View Post

They aren't rare in a broadcast or production studio.
http://www.panasonic.com/business/pr...BT-LH1710.asp#
Their current model is over $1k more that includes a DVI input so I think $300 is a better solution. Not to get too far OT, What/where controls the 'passage' of the video (and audio) signals the sender or receiver? IOW's which end blocks the so called 'protected' video?

AIUI an HDCP source, like a Blu-ray player or set-top box won't send video until it has negotiated with the display.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 02-23-2012, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Stupid Hollywood paranoia. Pretty pathetic that this was allowed to include a monitor.
Then the solution is to trick the source into seeing a "negotiation".

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 03-01-2012, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Neither of those will help. The first converts to SD video and doesn't allow HDCP'd content, the second is actually the opposite direction to what OP would need.
msgohan is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 03-02-2012, 04:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Thanks for those links, but as already stated, neither addresses the problem other than the fact the 2nd is way out in left field as far as price is concerned..

Question; With content such as OTA recording from a DVR and DVD backup discs, would there still be a issue? Since neither should have copy protection.

For those that don't seem to understand the situation, attached are drawings of the rear & front panel of the monitor;
LL
LL

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 03-04-2012, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
If all you want to do is watch OTA TV and Play DVDs - then wouldn't a SFF PC with a VGA output and a VGA to RGB+Syncs cable do the trick?
You may need a 'smart cable' that converts the separate H and V syncs usually used in VGA to a composite H+V sync signal (though some GPUs can output composite Syncs as an option - my old Radeon used to which I used for an SD RGB+Syncs VGA to SCART converter in the UK)

VGA is much more useful in 60Hz land than it is to us in 50Hz land for TV use (50Hz VGA is pretty rare...)

Or if you have an older video card with YPrPb HD Component output that might work?
sneals2000 is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 03-04-2012, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
No, I just want the ability to use the SDI input with HDMI (or at least DVI) as a bench monitor for evaluation purposes just as intended, in a studio.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 03-04-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Suspect you're out of luck for HDCP encoded signals unless you buy some grey market devices.

There are Blu-ray players and DVB OTA/Satellite STBs on the market with mods to give them HD-SDI outputs - and in use by most broadcasters in the UK for this very reason... Probably breaking lots of laws - but many broadcasters are using them to off-air HD material...

The cheapest HD-SDI to HDMI conversion devices I've seen in the UK are the Blackmagic boxes (GBP£190ish) - but they are only for non-HDCP HDMI content (such as camcorder or PC outputs in some situations)

If you have a Nanoflash recorder knocking around (They were very common in the UK to off-board record Sony EX1/3 at 50Mbs and thus shoot in a UK-HD broadcaster compliant format, though the XF305 has kind of replaced the EX3+Nano combo for self-shooting HD here) the that will convert both ways in E-to-E mode (again non-HDCP only)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 03-10-2012, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Jack Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Screw HDCP... get a DC-DA1 if they still make them? Been using mine for years to watch 1080i and line doubled DVDs and stuff on my 65" HDTV which has only DVI and VGA input and no HDCP. New costs around $350. Used on Ebay alot less. When I bought mine it cost alot less... nice to buy electronics which actually appreciate in value.
Jack Morris is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 03-11-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 15,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Screw HDCP... get a DC-DA1 if they still make them?

1. The monitor doesn't have a VGA input,
2. That doesn't solve the problem of not being about to use the SDI inputs.

I want to be able to connect any and all DVI/HDMI devices to at least one of these inputs. Not a specific device, any device that I or anyone has. The last time I looked TV's don't/can't record video.
Quote:
Suspect you're out of luck for HDCP encoded signals unless you buy some grey market devices.

That's fine with me as long as it works.

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off