Possessed new Samsung 55 6050 LED - Comcast, Cables, HDMI, What can it be? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-14-2011, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslenutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So after purchasing a new samsung tv and hooking up the scientific atlanta comcast cable box through the first HDMI port, I noticed some green flashing pixels after a few weeks. Those green flashing pixels have now turned into what you see on picture #1. The strange thing is, if you switch the port to the third HDMI port you get whats on picture #2. My xbox 360 works fine hooked up into all 4 port using HDMI. The cable box works fine on HDMI ports #2 & #4. HDMI #1 and #3 are the ones that seem messed up. I have many wires in back of the tv and if you move them, the lines do move on the tv making me think its interference.

Im so confused, I have tried 3 different HDMI cables - still the same result. Im going to try a new cable box but I have a feeling it is going to give me the same results. I have read many weird things about HDMI, Im just not sure wether its the TV or not.

Has anyone seen anything like this?
LL
LL
muslenutz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-15-2011, 02:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Certainly if you have large gauge(thiner) HDMI cables with low insulation you can get interferance if the HDMI cables are running alongside and close to power cables.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-15-2011, 04:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 272
If a poor quality HDMI cable was the problem, why would it only be a problem on ports 1 and 3, not 2 and 4?
Ratman is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-15-2011, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslenutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got a new cable box, problem seemed to be fixed but now the picture shakes and jitters up and down slightly. I dont know what to think, is it possible that I have another faulty box?
muslenutz is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-16-2011, 04:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,390
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Try a hard power cycle of the TV. Unplug from wall power for 5 or 10 minutes.
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-17-2011, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
muslenutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turned out my box was set to only 1080i, I added 780P in the settings and everything is ok so far. Screw Comcast!
muslenutz is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-18-2011, 04:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by muslenutz View Post

Turned out my box was set to only 1080i, I added 780P in the settings and everything is ok so far. Screw Comcast!

Uh, that's most likely not a Comcast issue. That's a Samsung issue if the set can't accept 1080i, which would typically be your best choice for HDTV viewing on a 1080p set.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-21-2011, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 14,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Your TV is on it's side??

1. Try a direct RF connection to the internal tuner (which you should have anyway),
2. Try a component input.
3. As suggested, try another output resolution.

That's why I don't rent MSO STB's!

Abundant OTA television is what makes this country different from all others. Lets keep it this way.
The Internet is no place for streaming video.
videobruce is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off