help identifying this connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-16-2011, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dave042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can an older Pioneer plasma tv which has a separate receiver/tuner called a media box (model PDP-R04G). It has one HDMI, with component and composite connections. It also has a connection for an antenna.

I read in another forum somebody had recommended purchasing a "European TV adapter" from Radio Shack. As you can see in the bottom right corner of the picture, I tried to "make it fit" but without luck. The adapter seemed to be the same size as the connection so I tried to use some pliers and make the adapter larger in order to fit but it doesn't.

I want to be able to connect an antenna in order to receive OTA HD channels.

Has anybody come across this before and know how to solve my problem?
LL
dave042 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-16-2011, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 90
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103468
Did you try this one?
This one is NOT the one you want
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2123184
I'm quite sure your TV won't have a ATSC tuner, probably just PAL. You should get a US HD tuner, found here
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=179095
jjeff is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-16-2011, 03:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its shield will fit inside and the center pin is about like an RCA connection. Hope it has settings to accept US signals, even from a ATSC set top box.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-17-2011, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dave042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I'm hoping. I was able to get HD cable channels on it on basic cable but I've never tried OTA. I'm not sure how its going to scan for channels with -'s in them such as 38-1, 38-2, 41-3, etc. It has never display those before and there is no - on the remote.

I guess I'm going to have to drop $100 for a OTA digital receiver.
dave042 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-18-2011, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
gbynum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave042 View Post

I'm not sure how its going to scan for channels with -'s in them such as 38-1, 38-2, 41-3, etc. It has never display those before and there is no - on the remote.

You don't normally scan entering the subchannels, the receiver just finds the channel then presents what subchannels are there.

the use of a - is not universal; in particular, my Sony uses a . (dot or point, or period)
gbynum is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-18-2011, 09:21 AM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That "European" connection is common on Pioneer/Elite (all the way back to their projection) and on commercial displays.

It is nothing more than a "more robust" coax connection than the standard "gee the connector slipped off the end of the cable again" American version.

You can probably get those at high end A/V shops cause I think Runco uses them as well.
schan1269 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-18-2011, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hphase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 2,999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by schan1269 View Post

That "European" connection is common on Pioneer/Elite (all the way back to their projection) and on commercial displays.

It is nothing more than a "more robust" coax connection than the standard "gee the connector slipped off the end of the cable again" American version.

You can probably get those at high end A/V shops cause I think Runco uses them as well.

Huh? The European antenna connection is a friction-fit, similar to the loosey-goosey HDMI connector. The "American" F-connector screws into place. Much more secure. Now, if the connector falls off of the end of the cable, you didn't crimp it properly.
hphase is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off