HDMI & red white cable issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an older hdtv. It has 2 hdmi inputs (video only) and to get the audio you have to connect red white cables to the audio inputs on the tv. The problem is that the dvd players and direct tv box I have don't have red/white rca slots.

My direct tv box has a coaxial and optical digital audio out slot next to the hdmi slot
My dvd player only has a optical digital out slot next to the hdmi slot.


I've been just using the g,b,y,r,w,r slots, but I am planning on selling the tv soon and I know if I can't get a cable that will make it work with newer hardware I will never be able to sell it.



Solutions?
kyleax1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You have a DirecTV receiver with no analog audio output? Are you sure?
petern is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by petern View Post

You have a DirecTV receiver with no analog audio output? Are you sure?

The red, white on the receiver are only for the yellow,blue, green outputs.

The coaxial and optical outputs are for the hdmi, trust me I already tried.

I found these...which one would I need to do the trick?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...mat=4#feedback


http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=8127&seq=1&format=2
kyleax1 is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
petern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What's the model number of your DirecTV receiver? It's on the sticker in the card slot door.

The Yellow RCA is Composite video output (not HD).

The Green, Blue, & Red RCA video outputs are component video (480i/p, 720p, 1080i).

The Red and White analog audio outputs, and the Digital Coax and Digital Optical should be always active no matter which video output you are using.
petern is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The receiver model number is hr22-100
kyleax1 is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 06:46 PM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on the HD box you have, all outputs are ALWAYS hot.

Connect your HDMI and red/white.

What TV/monitor is this, cause I don't ever remember an HDMI equipped device where the HDMI didn't include audio.
schan1269 is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kyleax1 is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by schan1269 View Post
on the HD box you have, all outputs are ALWAYS hot.

Connect your HDMI and red/white.

What TV/monitor is this, cause I don't ever remember an HDMI equipped device where the HDMI didn't include audio.
This is indeed an odd one. HDMI, by current specification, includes audio. HDMI 1.0 was intended as an improvement to DVI-HDTV which did not include audio. The OP's manual didn't have a date, as far as I saw, but I would guess 2002 or 2003.
domino92024 is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 10:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried hooking up the red white every which way possible, then went back and tried all options again with no luck. Either they aren't always live or the red white on the tv don't work.

The thing that gets me is that when I have the red white and hdmi just hooked up and going into the cable box accordingly and I change the source to hdmi I get sound for about a second then it goes silent. Every time I change to another source and then back to hdmi it does the same thing.
kyleax1 is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 08-19-2011, 11:03 PM
 
schan1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just read the manual.

Apparently only HDMI audio 1 works with the red/white analog inputs near it (page 27)

HDMI 2 is out of luck cause it is explained nowhere.

Your Directv box SHOULD have the red-white hot at the same time as the HDMI(I have 3 HD DVR's and 1 regular HD box...and they all have ALL outputs hot ALL the time). If not, call Directv for a new box.

The other problem could be in internal problem of the TV. Try connecting something else to the Directv box for sound directly off the box...if that works, but not on the TV(per page 27), then your TV has problem.

Your other solution is to completely ignore the HDMI. There is ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE in running Component Video to this TV over HDMI...ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE.

Edit:
On page 85, they did a typo on the

Intput Terminals
Video Input (rear Side)
Input 3 and 4

They should match. They typo'd those.

Or, here is another option(cause this is so inexpensive...)
http://www.amazon.com/Onkyo-HTX-22HD...3820699&sr=1-1

Edit 2:
This is the first TV I've ever run across where the HDMI didn't include the audio.

Edit 3:
I am starting to think the TV is having a problem, but I might have a solution. The Headphone jack(page 28) may have dust in it, if you have a can of compressed air(like for a computer), spray it out. Re-reading page 27 leads me to believe the TV has an internal switch for that ONE SET of RCA to switch between the three video input, so you can only hook up one of three things for the audio. This is a very poor design.

Edit 4:
Just to let you know. You are probably doing NOTHING wrong. Based on re-reading page 27, how you design one set of RCA audio inputs to cover 3 video inputs, 2 HDMI and VGA, is beyond me.
schan1269 is offline  
post #11 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 02:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
This might be a case where a Home Theater in a Box might be a good solution. Usually consists of a relatively lowend A/V receiver and a set of 5 speakers.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #12 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where did that long post go? I wanted to re-read it this morning.
kyleax1 is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that all the direct tv receiver ports are always hot. However When I plug into the red white for the hdmi sound no audio works either.

I also compared the component video quality to the hdmi video quality using SciHD as a reference and the component actually looked better, a little better color and more crisp....now how does that make sense?
kyleax1 is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 07:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 View Post

I can confirm that all the direct tv receiver ports are always hot. However When I plug into the red white for the hdmi sound no audio works either.

You may have to configure the HDTV in the menu to 'look' at the analog audio inputs, or the HDMI port you are using may require a specific set of red/white analog inputs to be used.

Another possibility is the HDTV simply is broken, with zero audio output from any source.

Quote:


I also compared the component video quality to the hdmi video quality using SciHD as a reference and the component actually looked better, a little better color and more crisp....now how does that make sense?

Because technically HDMI video quality and component video quality for 1080i and 720p are the same.

Further, how the DirecTV HD box and the HDTV are designed and manufactured may affect HDMI and component video quality.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 View Post
Where did that long post go? I wanted to re-read it this morning.
It's back, edited for clarity.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is the assumption now that ever if I got a convertor that it should not make a difference because if the audio was working it would have worked at some point during all these testing attempts?
kyleax1 is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 View Post

So is the assumption now that ever if I got a convertor that it should not make a difference because if the audio was working it would have worked at some point during all these testing attempts?

Right.

All the converter does is take digital audio and makes it analog. If the HDTV won't do analog from the DVD player or the DirecTV box now, it won't do it from the converter.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 10:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok, I looked at the manual. At the beginning it specifically references HDMI carrying both audio and video on a single cable, so I don't think the analog inputs are the only option for audio input. This is in spite of the picture on page 27 showing the use of HDMI for video and analog l/r stereo for audio. I may be wrong about this, but the only way to know is to try it.

It's possible the set can only accept Dolby Digital audio on the HDMI input, and the DirecTV HD box is set for PCM (CD type) audio. Can you verify the DirecTV HD box digital audio output?

Since you've already seen that component video looks better, you might as well use component video and analog l/r audio for both the DVD player and DirecTV HD box, and be done with it.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Right.

All the converter does is take digital audio and makes it analog. If the HDTV won't do analog from the DVD player or the DirecTV box now, it won't do it from the converter.

The OP stated early on that his DirecTV box HAD NO analog output. His only R/W audio out of his DirecTV box was part of the component output, and not live all the time(?). Being there sure would make this easier.
domino92024 is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 09:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

The OP stated early on that his DirecTV box HAD NO analog output.

All DirecTV boxes have analog audio out, and all the outputs are active all the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

Being there sure would make this easier.

Indeed.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 08-20-2011, 10:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To the OP:

What's the brand and model number of the DVD player?

Does it have any red/white analog audio outputs? If a unit has any red/white analog audio out, those can be used with any of the video outputs.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 08-21-2011, 07:44 AM
Member
 
n3vino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino92024 View Post

The OP stated early on that his DirecTV box HAD NO analog output. His only R/W audio out of his DirecTV box was part of the component output, and not live all the time(?). Being there sure would make this easier.

That's what the OP said. No R/W audio outputs from Sat box or DVD player. I wonder if he meant from the HDMI outputs, because it makes no sense that these boxes don't have any R/W outputs.

The OP might also not understand that the R/W cables need to plug into the same TV input as the video input. He should have no problem if he used component cables. He has an older TV so he does not really need HDMI. He probably doesn't understand that component cables deliver 720P and 1080I. Unless he has an upconverting DVD player and not BD, in which case he probably needs to run it to HDMI for it to upconvert to near HD. In addition, I have always understood that HDMI carries both video and audio. His HDMI tv input might be defective.

Personnaly I don't use my TV's audio. I connect my Box and BD player's audio directly to my audio receiver with R/W cables. I have an older prologic receiver.
n3vino is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 08-21-2011, 10:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by n3vino View Post

That's what the OP said. No R/W audio outputs from Sat box or DVD player. I wonder if he meant from the HDMI outputs, because it makes no sense that these boxes don't have any R/W outputs.

As already covered, the DirecTV box at a minimum has analog audio out, and I'd bet big the DVD player does too. That can be confirmed as soon as we get the model number.

Quote:
The OP might also not understand that the R/W cables need to plug into the same TV input as the video input. He should have no problem if he used component cables.

Right, which has already been covered and recommended as a solution that works as well as any other, for this application.

Quote:
In addition, I have always understood that HDMI carries both video and audio. His HDMI tv input might be defective.

Yes, except a very early version of HDMI, they carry audio. It appears this HDTV was made after the point where audio was part of the HDMI spec. As already covered, the HDTV manual references the HDMI ability of carrying both audio and video, so it is well possible the HDTV is defective for HDMI audio.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 08-21-2011, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
kyleax1,

Make sure that if you try HDMI only, you use HDMI-1 and make sure that you are using a known good cable and that your DirecTV box is set to output PCM.
Or, use HDMI-2 along with the red/white analog audio cables plugged into the analog audio input just below the RGB input. [manual, page 27.]
Or use the component cables, along with the r/w cables connected to the analog audio inputs paired with the component video. [manual, page 26.]

What is the make/model of your DVD player?
domino92024 is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 08-24-2011, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the long delay.

I was originally under the impression that things marked as digital audio out would work in conjunction with hdmi. Now that I know that any audio out works with hdmi I did more testing with the blu ray player. The results show that the red and white audio out are not functioning.

So I guess I'm out of luck for being able to use HDMI at all.
kyleax1 is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 08-24-2011, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 View Post

I was originally under the impression that things marked as digital audio out would work in conjunction with hdmi. Now that I know that any audio out works with hdmi I did more testing with the blu ray player. The results show that the red and white audio out are not functioning.

So I guess I'm out of luck for being able to use HDMI at all.

Ya lost me, dude. What "red and white audio out" is not functioning? And, what leads you to now believe that you can't use HDMI. Did you try the things I suggested just above?

[Please...use analog audio out FROM (device) to analog audio in on (device) instead of saying red & white audio out (with no device mentioned.)]
domino92024 is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 08-25-2011, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kyleax1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
analog from blu ray player to analog from tv and hdmi from blu ray to hdmi from tv = no sound


The problem has been solved, its a hardware malfunction.
kyleax1 is offline  
post #28 of 32 Old 08-25-2011, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Did you ever try hookin up your DirecTV box with only an HDMI cable (do not use the analog audio cables). Then go into the sound settings on the DirecTV box and try both analog and digital audio and see if one or the other works.

I can't believe that your TV can't accept audio over HDMI. That doesn't make any sense. And if for some reason it didn't accept audio over HDMI then they would have had to include more than one analog audio input, because you would have 3 video inputs but only one audio input. There would be no way to get audio to the sources for HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 if you were using the analog audio for the VGA input (which is what I think it is really there for).

My guess is if you set your DirecTV box and Blu-Ray player to ouput analog audio (or PCM which is the same thing) then this will work over HDMI just fine without the analog audio cables.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 08-25-2011, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleax1 View Post

analog from blu ray player to analog from tv and hdmi from blu ray to hdmi from tv = no sound

analog from (xxxx) to analog from (xxxx) ??? This makes no sense. You connect an output to an input.

Quote:


The problem has been solved, its a hardware malfunction.

Ah...OK.
domino92024 is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 08-25-2011, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
domino92024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beerstalker View Post

My guess is if you set your DirecTV box and Blu-Ray player to ouput analog audio (or PCM which is the same thing)...

ACK! Man, confusion reigns. PCM (Pulse Code Modulated) is the purest form of digital audio. PCM was one of the first methods to digitally represent an analog audio signal.

I first played with PCM audio with an encoder that connected to the very first Beta video recorder. I actually played with PCM digital audio on that recorder before I used it for video.
domino92024 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off