Send 1 HDMI source to several TVs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 10-18-2011, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
alexcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I became very excited when I saw devices that represented they would send a single HDMI signal to multiple displays. This seemed to be the answer to all my problems - I have a home theater room with a Comcast DVR and I also have a 60 inch Sony rear projection also having a Comcast DVR.

My theory was that I would be able to see any programming in any room through the use of these repeaters and infrared to radio to infrared transmitter/receivers. Looked good on paper and should have worked but it didn't. The view HD one into 4 splitters that I purchased were extremely "squirrely". Had to send them back and am now somewhat apprehensive that this new technology has problems.

I suspect that the protection capabilities inherent within HD and the fact that Comcast frowns upon splitting their signal has a lot to do with the difficulties I experienced.

The devices that I tried were at least two years old and may not have been well implemented. Is anyone doing what I am trying to do successfully? Are there any resources that will bring me up to speed on the technical issues that got in my way? It also occurs to me that I may be pigheaded in that Comcast probably does a large part of what I want to do with their whole house service but this would not allow me to play a movie from my entertainment PC to a television in a remote part of the house.

I know that I have rambled a bit and I apologize for that but I would really appreciate enlightenment.
alexcomp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 10-19-2011, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Joeforsale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The one way is using an HDMI Balun and running CAT6 to the rooms you want the HDMI in. This is kind of expensive though. Another way would be to put media centers in the rooms that you want, but this would also require a DVR that could be viewed and played over the network. I know Directv has DVRs that can do this but not sure about Comcast.
Joeforsale is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off