CM4228 + CM7777+ Eagle Aspen ROTR100 ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-24-2011, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: morris county
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a CM4228 + CM7777, and depending upon the season it seems that I need to move the antenna around because of bouncing off trees etc. So.... I've ordered an Eagle Aspen ROTR100 rotator that uses the existing coax.

It seems that the controller for the rotator replaces the power supply for the CM7777 is that correct? The installation pdf that I downloaded is a little unclear.

thanks in advance for your help.

j
J_ph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-25-2011, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Don't be surprised if you find you have to run a separate coaxial cable.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-25-2011, 04:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: morris county
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
after a little investigation it appears that the CM7777 preamp may not be compatible with the one wire scenario, so you may be right..... or I return it.

thanks

j
J_ph is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-25-2011, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The installation pdf also tells you to call PBI to find out what pre-amps are known to be compatible with the 1-wire system.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-25-2011, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: morris county
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> The installation pdf also tells you to call PBI to find out what pre-amps are known to be compatible with the 1-wire system.

thanks! I missed the note.

the instruction manual states - "+17 VDC at less than 50mA power"
the product PDF states - "18VDC at up to 80 ma"

http://www.eagleaspen.com/admin/prod...n/file_251.pdf

http://www.antennasdirect.com/cmss_f...%20-%20PBI.pdf

I think it may be worth a call.....
J_ph is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-25-2011, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: morris county
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did receive a prompt response from PBI -here's the list of compatible pre-amps:

Channel Master:0064DSB, 0264DSB, 0068DSB or 3010 Stealth active
antenna.(Models 0065DSB and 0265DSB are equivalent to 0064DSB and
0264DSB, but without a power supply included)

From winegard

HDP-269 or the AP-8700. Winegard tested these preamplifiers with this
rotor and had no problem. You will need to keep your downlead to less
than 150 feet of RG6/U cable.
J_ph is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Tags
Channel Master Cm 7777 Titan2 Uhf Vhf Preamplifier Cm7777 , Channel Master Cm 4228 8 Bay Hdtv Uhf Antenna Cm4228hd
Gear in this thread - Cm4228hd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off