white sparkles (dropped pixels) on Blu Ray DVD players - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-05-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikec5vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I ran long HDMI (75ft long) and using splitter as well. My HDTV DirectTV works fine but 2 of my Blu Ray DVD players for many white sparkles (dropped pixels).
I am using Toshiba and Sony Blu Ray's.
I have put in HDMI booster which just help a bit but still got white sparkles.
Does Sat receiver produce stronger signal and Blu ray's are just bad? Would buying better Blu Ray fix the issue? Or buying better HDMI booster may fix the issue as well?
Thanks,
-Mike
mikec5vert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-05-2012, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 210
75 feet is over the limit for any HDMI cable and you are experiencing the effects. The fact that one device works and others don't is just the luck of the circuit design. It's not just a voltage drop issue. The cable capacitance and inductance come into greater play at long lengths and a booster does not address that.

You need to move to HDMI over CAT5 or HDBaseT. HDbaseT is a more robust technology and is getting good reviews here. Sure they sell 75 foot cables and do work in some installations but they are a crap shoot as you have found out.

http://hdbaset.org/

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-05-2012, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mikec5vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would convert 75ft cable into 50ft + booster in the middle + 25ft do the trick?
Thanks,
-Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

75 feet is over the limit for any HDMI cable and you are experiencing the effects. The fact that one device works and others don't is just the luck of the circuit design. It's not just a voltage drop issue. The cable capacitance and inductance come into greater play at long lengths and a booster does not address that.

You need to move to HDMI over CAT5 or HDBaseT. HDbaseT is a more robust technology and is getting good reviews here. Sure they sell 75 foot cables and do work in some installations but they are a crap shoot as you have found out.

http://hdbaset.org/

mikec5vert is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-05-2012, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikec5vert View Post

Would convert 75ft cable into 50ft + booster in the middle + 25ft do the trick?
Thanks,
-Mike

It might work but it's a kludge. And if it does work now, it may not when you buy a new TV or other HDMI device. Rather then spend money on these band-aids, why not put the money towards a proven solution.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off