Combine UHF / FM with cable? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-08-2012, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I would like to mux the signals from UHF and FM antennae into the Comcast signal and then split them on the other end. Is that possible? Will my DCX series unit be able to function completely? Anything special I should know?
BSTNFAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-08-2012, 04:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSTNFAN View Post


I would like to mux the signals from UHF and FM antennae into the Comcast signal and then split them on the other end. Is that possible? Will my DCX series unit be able to function completely? Anything special I should know?

No it's not possible. Use a separate cable for the UHF & FM feed.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-08-2012, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Use a separate cable for the UHF & FM feed.

Was definitely my preference, but I'm hitting cabling difficulties.
BSTNFAN is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-08-2012, 04:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Posts split off and moved to new topic.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-08-2012, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Tschmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milford, NH
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSTNFAN View Post

I would like to mux the signals from UHF and FM antennae into the Comcast signal and then split them on the other end. Is that possible? Will my DCX series unit be able to function completely? Anything special I should know?

Not possible as they both use the same frequencies. Need to run separate Cables.
Tschmidt is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-09-2012, 04:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
BSTNFAN - you have a choice - run the separate cable or do without.

As stated above - cable and the channels you want share the same frequenies. The cable company will certainly have heartburn with your plan.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-09-2012, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
You'd have to build a Cable TV headend, and shift the signals to L-Band, then back down again. It would cost lots more money than running a second line.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-09-2012, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BSTNFAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chelmsford, MA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thank you everyone for the replies. I am having frustrating difficulties running a new line which is why I was hoping (grasping) for a reasonable alternative. Looks like I need to come up with a plan C.
BSTNFAN is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-09-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Explain what the difficulties are, and someone here can probably help you. We all have certain tricks we've learned. Also, those big-box home stores have plenty of the tools available....much more so that in years past.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off