Sony Bravia HDTV Power requirements - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-14-2012, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Preeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I bought a Sony Bravia 40" (KDL40BX420) on a very good deal last boxing day in Canada. I didn't think of taking it to India when I bought. But after I found that I paid only 1/3rd of its Indian price here, its definitely worth & makes sense to take it India with me by end of this year. My question is all about the input power to TV. I am totally confused after seeing different mentions about power input in different places.

There is a label on the package box which said KDL40BX420, CA2 120V, Made in Mexico.

Specification page on Sony's website says
Power Requirements (frequency) : 60Hz for UL
Power Requirements (voltage) : AC 120V for UL
(I can't post a link as this is my first post to this forum)

The operating instructions manual that came with TV says
110-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz (USA/Canada/Mexico 120 V AC, 60 Hz)

Sony Customer support said the TV works only in North America.

I looked at the label on TV's back and it clear shows "110 - 240 V ~ 50/60 Hz".

Many retail stores has below specification
Power Requirements (voltage): AC 120V for UL,cUL; AC 110-240V for other
Power Requirements (frequency): 60Hz for UL,cUL; 50/60Hz for other

I am clueless whether or not this TV supports dual voltage. Experts inputs are much appreciated.
Preeth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-17-2012, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
starrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't claim to be an expert. Research reveals India power is 230/50.
It would appear that dual voltage is a specific function, and that while your TV might have guts that will operate on either, it must have an automatic setup to do so. If not discussed in your manual, then I would guess that it is not
Check here: http://www.world-import.com/Sony_KLV...tem_LCD_TV.htm
I would call these folks and talk to them

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preeth View Post

Hi,

I bought a Sony Bravia 40" (KDL40BX420) on a very good deal last boxing day in Canada. I didn't think of taking it to India when I bought. But after I found that I paid only 1/3rd of its Indian price here, its definitely worth & makes sense to take it India with me by end of this year. My question is all about the input power to TV. I am totally confused after seeing different mentions about power input in different places.

There is a label on the package box which said KDL40BX420, CA2 120V, Made in Mexico.

Specification page on Sony's website says
Power Requirements (frequency) : 60Hz for UL
Power Requirements (voltage) : AC 120V for UL
(I can't post a link as this is my first post to this forum)

The operating instructions manual that came with TV says
110-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz (USA/Canada/Mexico 120 V AC, 60 Hz)

Sony Customer support said the TV works only in North America.

I looked at the label on TV's back and it clear shows "110 - 240 V ~ 50/60 Hz".

Many retail stores has below specification
Power Requirements (voltage): AC 120V for UL,cUL; AC 110-240V for other
Power Requirements (frequency): 60Hz for UL,cUL; 50/60Hz for other

I am clueless whether or not this TV supports dual voltage. Experts inputs are much appreciated.

starrin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-17-2012, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I would think if the label on the back of the TV says 110 - 240 V ~ 50/60 Hz then the 230V 50 Hz power in India would be OK. Otherwise the label would be a lie.
The TV's tuner is not likely to be compatible with any broadcasting in India or other local sources of video which would have a 50Hz frame rate. North American TV's will usually only work with with 60 Hz frame rates. This same problem is discussed in several other threads where people consider bringing North American TV's to Europe.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-17-2012, 06:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't think you will have trouble with power. However, in India they most likely are using European TV tranmission formats and not north American TV formats which the tuner in your new TV can receive.
walford is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off