300 ohm twinlead to Coax? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Norsican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just remembered....I have a huge Antenna ( dont ask me the brand) that is akin to something like This hanging in the darkest reaches of the attic from the previous owner with what I remember was Flat wire.

This is an older antenna prior to everything going Digital.

1) Will it still work?

2) Is there such a thing as an adapter that will take flat wire to Coax?

THERE IS NO NORSICAN, THERE IS ONLY ZUUL
Norsican is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 10:21 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 63
http://www.amazon.com/300-Ohm-UHF-Ma.../dp/B0002ZPIOG

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You should have clicked the little "accessories" icon on that same Radio Shack page.....you need the "Matching Transformer" (which hooks to the antenna itself), and coaxial cable (to go from the transformer, all the way to the TV).

If there's already flat lead (300-ohm twinlead), just replace it. Twinlead is too much trouble to mess with any more, although it CAN be a little bit less loss....if you put it in exactly the right way.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Norsican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ha!....


So I would jsut attach those at the Antenna and run Coax from there...nice.


Thanks agains folks!

THERE IS NO NORSICAN, THERE IS ONLY ZUUL
Norsican is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-18-2012, 04:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, connect the balun (transformer) at the antenna terminals (where the flat wire is connected) and just screw on the coax.

Be sure and buy RG6, not the cheaper, but similar looking RG59 sometimes sold at big box or discount stores. Look on the packaging or on the info stamped into the side of the coax. RG6 has less loss than RG59.

Any TV antenna will work for you, if it is suitable for your distance from the towers and the channel bands/frequencies being used in your area. There's no such thing as a "digital" or "HDTV" antenna. That's just marketing BS to confuse the buyer into thinking they need something new to get DTV.
arxaw is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-20-2012, 03:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If you don't feel like re-running the twin lead, and if the twin lead is already at the TV, you might want to try this:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062054

Connect the twin lead to this transformer, and just plug the transformer in the back of the TV's antenna input.

If you need to extend the twin lead, then you also need an f-coupler, or barrel splice like this to extend the rest of the way from the transformer to the TV with coax.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103648

This is just a suggestion, as you might be fine with what you have. But this is assuming the twin lead is in good shape and not cut anywhere. Otherwise as others have suggested, running new RG6 is recommended.
Save your receipts from Radio Shack in case something does not work.
mikepier is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off