TV flickers, HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-25-2012, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
P51
Newbie
 
P51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 1080p capable TV that I bought around thanksgiving. It has been working fine until about 2 weeks ago.

I have a xbox hooked up to my TV through HDMI for games/netflix. Every 20 mins now the TV flickers like someone turned off the tv and then turned it back on (I see the input dialog in the right hand corner every time this happens [Like how you would see the channel # if you were watching tv])

I have been using this cable since day 1, so I don't understand. It doesn't happen if I'm watching TV (through coaxial cable), so I have to assume its something with the HDMI cable or frequency.
P51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-25-2012, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
BHNtechXpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What make/model cable box are you using and on what provider?

~All truth goes through three phases. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as self-evident. - Arthur Schopenhauer ~
BHNtechXpert is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-25-2012, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
P51
Newbie
 
P51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHNtechXpert View Post

What make/model cable box are you using and on what provider?

It doesn't do it with TV. Only through my xbox which is connected to the TV with an HDMI cable in 1080p

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details

Thats the cable, cheap but good reviews, so I don't know.

Its worth noting that my laptop is next to the xbox too. Could there be some interference?

Its almost like it loses signal every 20 mins.
P51 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-26-2012, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
A few steps to troubleshoot. Try another hdmi input on the tv. Try bringing the xbox and cable to a friends house and try with another tv. Get another hdmi cable (from monoprice).
sitlet is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off