Where can I find a stand alone HDTV tuner for my DLP TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-08-2012, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
snukax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My LG DLP TV was manufactured prior to 2007 so does not have a built in HDTV tuner. It is easy to find a SD digital tuner box and easy to find an HDTV tuner for a computer but I need an HDTV tuner box for my television. Thanks for the help!
snukax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-08-2012, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Welcome to the forum, snukax.

Your will find a list of tuners here:
The Official AVS HDTV STB Synopsis!
www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=179095

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-08-2012, 05:15 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
TiVo Series 3 is one. As long as you can get CableCards from your CATV provider, you will have no problem. Or just roll your own like most are doing.
gregzoll is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-09-2012, 04:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
pacofortacos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
What are you trying to watch, OTA or cable?
pacofortacos is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-10-2012, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The OTA ones are out there but for cable you should rent.
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-10-2012, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Jack Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Welcome Snukax!!!

Are we talking about cable or OTA HDTV?

If cable, our local cable company includes 2 free digital HDTV tuners/STBs with each account.

If OTA, there are lots of units to buy such as the DTVPal Plus for around $50.

If you also want a HDTV DVR, there are lots of options for both cable and OTA and some with both cablecard slots and OTA tuners in a single box.
Jack Morris is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-11-2012, 07:48 AM
Member
 
dobyken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Florida Gulf Coast
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Morris View Post

Welcome Snukax!!!

Are we talking about cable or OTA HDTV?

If cable, our local cable company includes 2 free digital HDTV tuners/STBs with each account.

If OTA, there are lots of units to buy such as the DTVPal Plus for around $50.

If you also want a HDTV DVR, there are lots of options for both cable and OTA and some with both cablecard slots and OTA tuners in a single box.

The DTVPal is a SD converter and not a HDTV Tuner. One of the highest rated was the Samsung H260F which you can still find on Ebay. As mentioned ChannelMaster is one of the last companies still making HDTV receivers. I still have an old beast HDTV ready set but went the PC tuner route as it gives you so many more options such as XBMC, MediaPortal or WMC.

Better living through credit cards
dobyken is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-11-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobyken View Post

One of the highest rated was the Samsung H260F which you can still find on Ebay.

'Was' is the correct term. The Samsung has been around for a long, long time, and it's performance as a Digital TV tuner has since been surpassed by newer technology. Depending on the location the unit would be used, it may or may not deliver reliable reception.

If you could get one for less than $50 it might be worth a try, but when new units are available starting around $130, I'd consider one of them or other used units that are not quite as old. See the link above for the list.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-11-2012, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 235
If you could find an LG LST-3500A or greater that would be an excellent OTA HDTV tuner. I had one for years and it was without a doubt one of the most robust tuners out there for HDTV-ready sets. Wish I could be more helpful and point you to some specific links but I just don't have them anymore.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-11-2012, 11:25 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The LG is very good as stated, Zenith made one or two also.

Another one is the RCA ATSC 11 or ATSC 21 which has DVI, component, and standard NTSC A/V outputs. . . . and an optical Audio output for passing network Dolby digital 5.1 sound out.

I have one of each, and use just the one for connection to a "no tuner" DVR so I can record HD broadcasts.
Phase700B is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
snukax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all of the warm welcomes. I cut the cord and am only interested in OTA. I'm in North Redondo Beach, CA and trying to figure out which antenna is best for my area. I am posing my TVFool link in HDTV technical next.
snukax is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
snukax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I connected a Roku box to this TV which allows access to my PC.
snukax is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
snukax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

The LG is very good as stated, Zenith made one or two also.

Another one is the RCA ATSC 11 or ATSC 21 which has DVI, component, and standard NTSC A/V outputs. . . . and an optical Audio output for passing network Dolby digital 5.1 sound out.

I have one of each, and use just the one for connection to a "no tuner" DVR so I can record HD broadcasts.

Is this the RCA unit you are referring to?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DIRECTV-AM21...item41634720dd
snukax is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-22-2012, 04:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snukax View Post

Is this the RCA unit you are referring to?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/DIRECTV-AM21...item41634720dd

No, that one is from DirecTV and only works with one of their sat receivers.

Here's the RCA: http://www.amazon.com/RCA-ATSC11-Hig.../dp/B0000BZHAG

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off