Need a small Charter cable box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So, I have a tv mounted above my closet in my bedroom and only have a coax ran to it. Recently, I've been thinking that it would be nice to have premium channels if at all possible.... So, what I'm needing is a box that is small because I don't have any shelves for it, I was hoping to possibly Velcro it to the back of my 32" tv. Does anyone have any suggestions? Does charter offer any small boxes ? Thanks!

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-18-2012, 10:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The only place you can get an cable box (HD or SD) is from the cableco. One exception is a TiVo with a CableCARD to rent from Charter, but they aren't small.

If you only want SD, they may have a smaller box, but it varies by location. Call them or better yet stop by one of their offices.

Another suggestion is to mount it in a closet and get an IR extender for the remote. Yes, you have to run cables from the box location to the HDTV.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Charter does have a smaller size HD cable box that can be connected via HDMI. I have enquired about it myself. But you have to specify you want the smaller size box, and they may have to order one for you based upon availability.
tylerSC is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Charter does have a smaller size HD cable box that can be connected via HDMI. I have enquired about it myself. But you have to specify you want the smaller size box, and they may have to order one for you based upon availability.

Would you happen to know the model #?

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are you looking for an HD box?
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anything small enough, HD would be better though.

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you velcro it to the back of the TV how are you going to use the cable box remote. If possible find another location for the cable box and run HDMI from the box to the TV. Monoprice has inexpensive cables that should work.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dasanii19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

If you velcro it to the back of the TV how are you going to use the cable box remote. If possible find another location for the cable box and run HDMI from the box to the TV. Monoprice has inexpensive cables that should work.

Couldn't I use some sort of IR eye? The only other place I could put the box is in the closet, but I would still need some sort of IR. Where can I buy a IF eye at? Alao, can I buy my own cable box or do I need to rent it from charter?

MY NAME IS SUE!!! HOW DO YOU DO!!!

"I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it."
dasanii19 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off