Do I need HD cable service for a new HD TV? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 47 Old 03-25-2012, 08:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbynum View Post

I'd say that your statement is true if we use "picture will APPEAR TO be". It is questionable how much worse, however.

I've looked at many different models owned by friends showing SD signals on HD sets, and would opine that there is significant difference in the scaling by different manufacturers. My wife and I actually find that _MUCH_ SD content looks quite good on our rear-projection 720P Sony.

I've seen a friend's Panasonic which was terrible scaling the SD. Both were connected to Charter cable.

YMMV.

Personally, I believe its the de-interlacing rather than the scaling that is the issue on poor SD quality on fixed pixel displays. (that's probably nit-picking on my part but the two functions are separate)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 47 Old 03-25-2012, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulGo View Post

Philips no longer sells TVs in the U.S.; any TVs you see in the U.S. with the Philips brand will be made and sold by the Japanese company Funai, which has a license to use the Philips brand here.

http://displaydaily.com/2009/03/12/w...cinema-219-tv/

Since 2008, I believe.
http://gizmodo.com/377355/philips-wo...merica-anymore

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #33 of 47 Old 03-25-2012, 10:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
To the OP - If you're going to try another display, you might want to give plasma technology some consideration.

The conventional view is that plasma puts out something much closer to a "CRT-like" picture, and generally speaking, they'll make a more marginal SD signal look better than an LCD can - which may matter if you're going to sit closer.

Even if you do get HD, you might want to consider if you'll still be watching any SD at any time, and if so, how much, and how important the PQ from those channels will be to you.

Anyway, no matter what you decide to do, definitely swap out the display you have now, even if it's with another of the same model, because of that very-noticable, uneven edge-lighting. That's a quality control issue.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #34 of 47 Old 03-25-2012, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JimboG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You now have an HDTV. IMO, you shouldn't pay for programming that isn't HD.

For a one-time fee of $16 you can get a decent over the air antenna for Fox, CBS, ABC, NBC, PBS, the CW, etc in HD for free. If you choose to continue to pay for cable or satellite I would splurge to get decent looking HD programming for your nice new HD display.

Free over the air HDTV + Tivo HD + Netflix for Blu-ray and streaming = Bliss
JimboG is offline  
post #35 of 47 Old 03-26-2012, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbog View Post

you now have an hdtv. Imo, you shouldn't pay for programming that isn't hd.

For a one-time fee of $16 you can get a decent over the air antenna for fox, cbs, abc, nbc, pbs, the cw, etc in hd for free. If you choose to continue to pay for cable or satellite i would splurge to get decent looking hd programming for your nice new hd display.

+1
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #36 of 47 Old 03-26-2012, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc515 View Post

Thanks guys.

I had a pretty good picture on our old 27" Sony tube TV, and figured the 46" would offer an equivalent picture without needing the additional HD service; however, the picutre on the 46" appears blurry at times.

I'm wondering if the picture on a 42" would be any better than the 46" with just regular digital service?

I have DirecTV SD displayed on a 46 inches LCD 60 Hz TV and I get an acceptable picture by reducing the 'sharpness' and turning off all the picture enhancements. Go into your video menu and try the various adjustments available and see if that gets you an equivalent picture.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #37 of 47 Old 03-27-2012, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
McDonoughDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I find that by not stretching the SD on an HD set, that it can be tolerable.

That said, I agree with others, I will not pay for SD cable on an HD set.

Peachtree City Golf Cart Rider
McDonoughDawg is online now  
post #38 of 47 Old 03-27-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Many HD TVs have a panoramic stretch in addition to a linear stretch option to display SD content on a HD TV screen which only stretches the sides of the image which normally never contain any meaningfull content but contain only scenery.
There are many broadcast and cable SD digital channels available only in encrypted mode.
Also many HD programs are created from source filmed with SD cameras and the providers use upscaling hardware systems causing thousands of $ to stretch the content without distorting the content.
walford is offline  
post #39 of 47 Old 03-27-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by McDonoughDawg View Post

I find that by not stretching the SD on an HD set, that it can be tolerable.

That said, I agree with others, I will not pay for SD cable on an HD set.

+1 (as far as not stretching SD content on an HD screen). I will use what my TV calls aspect mode (present the 4:3 image as a full height image with black bars on the sides) This doesn't look too bad if you follow the old SD rule of being back 3-5 times the image distance (and have the sharpness turned way down / off).

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #40 of 47 Old 03-27-2012, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas Desmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Many HD TVs have a panoramic stretch in addition to a linear stretch option to display SD content on a HD TV screen which only stretches the sides of the image which normally never contain any meaningfull content but contain only scenery.

Personally, I find the panoramic stretch modes to be even more annoying than linear stretch -- because anything that is moving across the screen, whether a text scroll at the bottom of the screen or just panning across a scene will change shape as it moves across the screen.
Thomas Desmond is offline  
post #41 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 04:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
As we like to call it around here - "The Funhouse Mirror Effect".

My display does a tolerable-enough job with that mode where I can handle it for certain programming, as long as the main focal point is in the middle of the screen. And if there's anything off to the sides in the picture at all, it's nothing that's active enough to draw my attention to. Like some talking heads stuff.

I can use that mode for those kinds of things before I can use the linear stretch for anything. I can't tolerate that "fat-head" look at all.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #42 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

If all TV providers would dump not only analog but SD then there wouldn't be any extra charges of HD because that would be all they offer. And the sooner the better.

Although the total number may diminish digital SD channels will be with us for quite some time because some don't really care about HD the way posters to this forum do. It's more likely there will be home gateways / cable boxes that do HD to SD conversion eliminating the need for redundant channels. Analog cable channels are already history where I live and IMHO are living on borrowed time in most of the country.
Sammer is offline  
post #43 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammer View Post

Although the total number may diminish digital SD channels will be with us for quite some time because some don't really care about HD the way posters to this forum do. It's more likely there will be home gateways / cable boxes that do HD to SD conversion eliminating the need for redundant channels. Analog cable channels are already history where I live and IMHO are living on borrowed time in most of the country.

Why would anyone spend money to convert HD digital channels to SD digital channels? We may continue to have boxes to convert from digital to analog for older sets but I can't see a market for standard definition digital. Almost every TV that has a digital tuner is an HD set.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #44 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 05:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The one use I can see is for a broadcaster who has multiple digital SD sub-channels to convert HD digital programs for use on these sub-channels.
walford is offline  
post #45 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

The one use I can see is for a broadcaster who has multiple digital SD sub-channels to convert HD digital programs for use on these sub-channels.

Very good point. However that would not require home gateways / cable boxes that do HD to SD conversion as indicated by Sammer. Also this would have nothing to do with redundant channels as all subscribers would get the same feed be it SD or HD.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #46 of 47 Old 03-28-2012, 09:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

Why would anyone spend money to convert HD digital channels to SD digital channels?

Because the alternative is even more expensive for cable companies who want to charge extra for HD as long as possible. The conversion will probably also provide NTSC (analog) baseband and possibly RF modulation.
Sammer is offline  
post #47 of 47 Old 03-29-2012, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My cable provider is Time Warner. With Time Warner HD is free with digital cable. I agree that digital is more than analog at this time.
HDMI Guy is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off