Cable tv box damaged HDMI of tv. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-29-2012, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Warlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, hope someone can help me understand. Last night we had a blackout and when the energy come back I tried to watch tv from my cable provider box but I notice that the tv only display no signal. The tv lost the 4 hdmi inputs, none of them works. That tv had a Battery with Surge and noise protection and I had connected the Cable box too. Any help or advice will be appreciated.
Warlex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-29-2012, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Call your insurance company. Is that the only damage you have?
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You did, of course, try a different device on the TV, (DVD/BD player) also using one of the HDMI connections ?

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Warlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried with Xbox 360 none of them work. Im my other TV (LG) only was damage the HDMI 1. It is possible that a Cable box damage a HDMI port? Even when in Battery?
Warlex is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
m-heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was your cable line run through your power center? Also just because it's battery backup/surge protector doesn't mean it works to stop over voltage, fuses don't always pop when they are supposed to. I use Panamax for a reason.

Picture without sound is surveillance.
m-heat is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Warlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDMI Guy View Post

Call your insurance company. Is that the only damage you have?

Yes, only the 2 Tv's. In the LG only was damage the HDMI where it was connected the Cable Box. In this tv I connected the PS3 to the HDMI1 and is not working but when I connect the PS3 to the HDMI2 it works. In the other tv none of the HDMI works from 1 to 4.
Warlex is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Warlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by m-heat View Post

Was your cable line run through your power center? Also just because it's battery backup/surge protector doesn't mean it works to stop over voltage, fuses don't always pop when they are supposed to. I use Panamax for a reason.

If the TV provider cable run through where the Electricity cable run?
this is not the first time that this happen and now happend too on my new LG tv How can I prevent this from happening?
Warlex is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-30-2012, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
m-heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlex View Post


If the TV provider cable run through where the Electricity cable run?
this is not the first time that this happen and now happend too on my new LG tv How can I prevent this from happening?

Better power centers have connectors to provide surge protection for low voltage cabling like coax, and data.

Your cable run is copper wire like everything else. The cable should be grounded but that isn't always the case. I've seen plenty of issues from the cable line power surge before.

Picture without sound is surveillance.
m-heat is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-31-2012, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Sometimes the HDMI ports lock up. Unplug everything from the wall.(TV,STB,DVD player,X box.) Remove all HDMI connections. Let it sit for about 5 minutes.
Also remove the surge protector.
Now, only hook up the STB to the TV with the HDMI cord. Then plug only TV and STB back in wall. Power up and see what you get.
This happened 2X in the last 5 years or so on my Mitsubishi DLP. When I unplugged everything from the wall and let it reset, it came back fine.
mikepier is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-31-2012, 08:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is not uncommon for a TV's HDMI receiver chip to fail as a result of a power surge after a power failure even with an expensive surge protector installed for the HDMI lines. Contact your insurance company.
walford is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-01-2012, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
texasbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HDMI failures when there is a power surge is not unusual. It's usually linked with poor grounding somewhere in the system.
texasbrit is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 04-02-2012, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Warlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you All
Warlex is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off