TVs with EPG with OTA signal (USA)? - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 69 Old 12-04-2013, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,619
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 181
I think Samsung TVs provide the most complete program info and program guide for OTA viewers. And even their entry level 720p plasmas are very nice TVs. The F4500 series. Very good prices recently, as well as the 1080p 5300 series. And extensive picture controls, even in the lower models. And a very good signal meter that provides a SNR signal/ noise ratio, as well as the 10 bars. Just got a 43 inch F4500, and it makes a great bedroom TV. Some of the LG TVs have program info, but it depends upon the certain model.
tylerSC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 69 Old 12-05-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,086
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 270

My one and only Samsung, a P2370HD only has NOW/NEXT for a guide, I kind of assumed all Samsungs were similar, so it sounds like mine is kind of a anomaly? Too bad as I like a good PSIP guide and have to use my Vizio, which both of mine have a very good guide that goes out as far as the stations send out. My 28" LG also lacks any kind of guide and now that TVGOS is gone my Sony only shows the current program :( Oh my Panasonic LCD has no guide, not even current program is displayed!

jjeff is offline  
post #33 of 69 Old 12-05-2013, 04:15 PM
Newbie
 
stevesue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Not true Questy7. I chatted with Samsung today and she said ALL Samsung HDTVs have EPG. I have 5 Samsung HDTVs and they all have EPG (from 19" to 50"). As for Coby - they are freshly out of business now. I also have one Olevia HDTV, and excellent set but they went out of business. It only gives info on the current program.

stevesue4 is offline  
 
post #34 of 69 Old 01-13-2014, 02:13 PM
Member
 
80sMetalForever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 42" Sammy Plasma from a few years ago doesn't have this, but my 32" Sammy LCD from a few months ago does. It's neat but personally I never end up using it. What I can't figure out is where it gets populated from??
80sMetalForever is offline  
post #35 of 69 Old 03-30-2014, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
rtvtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK. First of all TVGOS is no longer necessary. A smart TV is connected to the web so it can/should get its EPG data directly from TMS or other services. It's 2014 this should be a no-brainer for the TV manufacturers, especially with the cable-cutting trend going on in North America nowadays.

I was on here searching for the answer to the question about what is the best smart TV for USA OTA. I can tell you that it is NOT the 2013 line of SAMSUNGs. These people really dropped the ball on OTA/EPG. The 2013 line has a setup so that you can integrate your set top box with it with IR blasters, etc. This seems retro to me. If you have a set top box selected -- then the smart hub home screen shows a preview of what's on cable/sat and has interactive graphics of what's on primetime, what's next up, etc. Very pretty. Here is the STUPID part. If you choose OTA or cable without a box the system then comes up with NO channels for your zip code (cable without box) or for OTA just your antenna lineup and gives you ONLY cheap/lame PSIP guide data. The pretty Smart Hub screen you get when you choose cable box is lost completely. I even tried zip codes for NYC, LA, Silicon Valley -- all useless for OTA/cable w/out box.

I have called to complain to Samsung a few times about this and they "just don't get it."

If I choose cable without a box it should at very least grab the lineup used for digital cable (same lineup it uses if you have a box) and this will at least provide REAL EPG for my locals and basic cable channels.

If I choose OTA, it should grab data from the TMS online service and align it with the call letters I have in my market.

It blows my mind that they didn't get this right.

Every few months (and after SW updates) I retry initial setup and am disappointed each time.

If you want decent OTA TV listings in the USA I'd avoid Samsung TVs.
rtvtom is offline  
post #36 of 69 Old 03-30-2014, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,619
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Not quite correct. Most Samsung TVs have program info and a program guide. But when you use an antenna, the OTA listings are usually PSIP based. Although the 2013 models upgraded the Smart TV, and those listings on the Smart Hub page and the preview boxes may come from the internet. And it does work for OTA listings based upon zip code. And the Smart Hub also has a built in app for Rovi Guide listings. So actually, Samsung TVs are better than most for OTA program info. Even the lower models without the Smart TV have PSIP based program info which is not offered on many other brands.
tylerSC is offline  
post #37 of 69 Old 03-30-2014, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
rtvtom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a poor implementation is what I'm saying.

If you choose cable box then it uses Rovi data and you get all the pretty features.

If you choose cable without box, or OTA you get screwed and all you see is useless 12-hour (if you're lucky) one channel at a time PSIP.

Bottom line is ANY smart TV (designed properly) should always populate its EPG from a Rovi or TMS type of service over PSIP whenever possible. PSIP should be an absolute last resort.

Give it a try. Enter your zip and choose CABLE BOX and you get pretty/full EPG features. Choose OTA or no box and get crap PSIP only. As stated in my previous post I tried numerous zip codes -- all with the same bad results. Including NYC and LA zips.

Oh well. Samsung should fix this.
rtvtom is offline  
post #38 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 12:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I know this thread is old but I am hoping for an update on what TVs have an EPG.

Since ROVI went belly-up I am given to understand that Samsung and Sony TVs no longer have EPGs. Are there any that do? I am doing OTA TV so even one that gets info from the OTA signal (PSIP) would be just fine.

dmatch
stevesue4 likes this.
dmatch is offline  
post #39 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,511
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatch View Post
I am doing OTA TV so even one that gets info from the OTA signal (PSIP) would be just fine.
Don't all OTA broadcast signals (digital) carry PSIP info? So, if true, I would assume all TV's with a digital tuner would suit your minimal needs.
Ratman is offline  
post #40 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 12:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,303
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
^^^^ they should if they're programmed correctly at the source. I've noticed that sometimes the minimal PSIP that I get from our local OTA stations are not correct. It's usually on the sub-stations not the primary ABC, CBS, NBC, or FOX affiliates.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #41 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,086
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Don't all OTA broadcast signals (digital) carry PSIP info? So, if true, I would assume all TV's with a digital tuner would suit your minimal needs.
I think he's looking for a TV with the guide function, not all have one. Many only display whats on now or maybe now/next.
I haven't really kept up on what new TVs have the PSIP guide feature but for starters I'd look for a TV that has a GUIDE button on the remote, if it does it has a good possibility of having a PSIP guide.
Both my Vizio TVs have a GUIDE button and a nice 7 day(or however far out your local stations go) guide but I've noticed many/all? new Vizios lack the very handy PSIP guide function
jjeff is offline  
post #42 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,511
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
I think he's looking for a TV with the guide function, not all have one.
Understood.

Quote:
I haven't really kept up on what new TVs have the PSIP guide feature but for starters I'd look for a TV that has a GUIDE button on the remote, if it does it has a good possibility of having a PSIP guide.
This is where the confusion lies. PSIP and EPG are not the same. And... PSIP has been and probably always will be minimal.[/QUOTE]

PSIP info is station/broadcaster dependant. Just because the remote has a "Guide" button does not mean all the desired info will be there.
Ratman is offline  
post #43 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 01:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Grab a $40 android tablet at wallyworld and install an Android app or browse to a website like titantv.com or something...I find that most EPG guide data is woefully inaccurate.
bac522 is offline  
post #44 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 11,303
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked: 1020
Who wants to buy yet another gizmo just for the tv guide? I use either my laptop, the basic PSIP info, or the TV Guide supplement in the newspaper.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #45 of 69 Old 11-25-2015, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 79
TitanTV on my PC for me. I've never used an EPG for scheduling. With cable and OTA from two areas, an EPG would never be enough. I'm firmly a "manual recording" type of guy!

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #46 of 69 Old 11-26-2015, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks for the replies.

I use TitanTV and can continue to do so but it's not quite as easy as pressing the Guide button on my old Vizio TV which has a good full (all that's available from the broadcaster) OTA PSIP generated EPG. Also, I have 3 other sources (tuners) that grab it but they are all old devices. I also could use Windows Media Center on Win 7 but it's not as convenient as that trusty Guide button and may not last much longer. I am looking to the future for when I replace the old Vizio.

Fortunately, where I am, all the broadcasters that are required (by FCC) to send the EPG data do most of the time. So it is quite a simple matter with the old TV to check what's coming on without having to turn on yet another device. I've got way too much junk already in my entertainment center which looks like a badly damaged Borg ship. I'm having to keep too much old stuff already in order to play older media and keep the functionality of the older devices.

Anyway, thought maybe someone here might have shopped for a TV lately and could relate what they have discovered regarding EPG.
dmatch is offline  
post #47 of 69 Old 11-27-2015, 04:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,720
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
PSIP info is station/broadcaster dependant. Just because the remote has a "Guide" button does not mean all the desired info will be there.
Nor that the Tv will actually properly support PSIP from those of us who actually have the data there...

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #48 of 69 Old 11-30-2015, 12:14 PM
Member
 
jvvh5897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
For $30 or so you can pick up a recording DTV convert box that has a good EPG--try the Sunkey. Then it does not matter if the TV does or does not and you get recording feature that is on its own tuner.
jvvh5897 is offline  
post #49 of 69 Old 12-01-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatch View Post
I know this thread is old but I am hoping for an update on what TVs have an EPG.

Since ROVI went belly-up I am given to understand that Samsung and Sony TVs no longer have EPGs. Are there any that do? I am doing OTA TV so even one that gets info from the OTA signal (PSIP) would be just fine.

dmatch
Rovi didn't go belly up, Zap2it went belly up. Rovi is the replacement for Zap2it.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #50 of 69 Old 12-01-2015, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Yeah, Zap2It no longer supplies WMC (Microsoft) with data and Rovi does now. My reference (not made very well) was to the Sony and Samsung TVs that used to get Rovi data not getting it now, or is that not right?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvvh5897 View Post
For $30 or so you can pick up a recording DTV convert box that has a good EPG--try the Sunkey. Then it does not matter if the TV does or does not and you get recording feature that is on its own tuner.
I've got 5 sources of TV data (including 3 DTV converter boxes - PSIP) but no more room in the entertainment center, at least that's what my wife says. Just hoped there was a TV that I could get with an EPG when I replace my old Vizio which has one.

DRCars
dmatch is offline  
post #51 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 05:08 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,086
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatch View Post
... Sony and Samsung TVs that used to get Rovi data not getting it now, or is that not right?
That is correct. My TVGOS Sony LCD hasn't had guide info for several years now Apparently some of the last Sony TVs had the ability to get it's guide info from the internet and apparently?? those still work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatch View Post
I've got 5 sources of TV data (including 3 DTV converter boxes - PSIP) but no more room in the entertainment center, at least that's what my wife says. Just hoped there was a TV that I could get with an EPG when I replace my old Vizio which has one.
DRCars
Totally understandable, I'd want the same thing. Why have another box to just get the guide info when it would be so easy to push a GUIDE button on your TVs(that your already watching) remote.
As I said in one of the first posts, if no one can tell you what TVs have the PSIP guide option then I'd just look for a TV who's remote had a GUIDE button. It won't be a guarantee it has the PSIP guide feature but it's a good start. Also from my experience it's far more likely a lesser known or cheaper brand will have the PSIP guide vs one of the giants like Sony, Samsung, LG, etc. For what ever reason in my experience they basically never have the PSIP guide option.
Good luck on your quest!
jjeff is offline  
post #52 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks everyone, I guess I'll have to dig around the internet a little harder looking at TV manuals.

DRCars
dmatch is offline  
post #53 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bac522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatch View Post
Thanks everyone, I guess I'll have to dig around the internet a little harder looking at TV manuals.

DRCars
I will say my new Vizio M series does not support EPG other than for the current show your watching.
bac522 is offline  
post #54 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,086
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by bac522 View Post
I will say my new Vizio M series does not support EPG other than for the current show your watching.
Which is too bad as Vizio used to be my go-to brand when people wanted a good PSIP guide HDTV. Back when Vizio was a no-name brand this was the case but like the other major mfgs.(which I'd consider Vizio to be now) they generally lack a good PSIP guide
It just amazes me one has to spend less, or at least purchase a lesser known brand, to gain a feature like a PSIP guide
jjeff is offline  
post #55 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
oc-rdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
Which is too bad as Vizio used to be my go-to brand when people wanted a good PSIP guide HDTV. Back when Vizio was a no-name brand this was the case but like the other major mfgs.(which I'd consider Vizio to be now) they generally lack a good PSIP guide
It just amazes me one has to spend less, or at least purchase a lesser known brand, to gain a feature like a PSIP guide
My sister bought a 40" Samsung TV earlier this year, that she uses with an antenna. It has a nice grid style TV guide. Seems to me most of the LA stations send out about 1 days worth of PSIP info.

FYI, this TV also has a built in casting(or mirroring) feature, similar to chromecast. I was helping her set the channels & her kids where both competing to cast videos from their tablets.
oc-rdx is offline  
post #56 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 02:10 PM
Member
 
jvvh5897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I had an early Memorex TV that did a good job with TV's guide system (well as good as it gets from what I understand about how DTV does FCC allowed system). My Element TV just does what is on at the time, not even what is next so stay away from that brand.
jvvh5897 is offline  
post #57 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,511
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Memorex and Element TV's....
Ratman is offline  
post #58 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 03:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,086
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Memorex and Element TV's....
My fathers Westinghouse TV also has a nice 7 day PSIP guide.....
Well it was mine a couple years back(BF purchase) but I was so put off by it's sub standard picture quality and other quirks, I was going to return it. My father ended up wanting it and has been happy with it ever since.
Like I said before, for what ever reason you have a much better chance of the TV having a good PSIP guide function, if it's cheap
Of course it sounds like oc-rdx's sister has a recent Samsung with a nice guide and Samsung is defiantly not cheap nor a no name brand, a model number would be helpful to dmatch and whoever else wants a brand name TV with a guide function. I'm also somewhat in the market for a 55"+ model and would consider a PSIP guide to be a selling point as I'm OTA only.
jjeff is offline  
post #59 of 69 Old 12-02-2015, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 17,511
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1475 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Yeah... If you want a good channel guide and don't care about picture quality and/or other quirks, get a "cheap" TV.
Ratman is offline  
post #60 of 69 Old 12-04-2015, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
dmatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Duncan Gap, North Central Arkansas
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc-rdx View Post
My sister bought a 40" Samsung TV earlier this year, that she uses with an antenna. It has a nice grid style TV guide. Seems to me most of the LA stations send out about 1 days worth of PSIP info.
FYI, this TV also has a built in casting(or mirroring) feature, similar to chromecast. I was helping her set the channels & her kids where both competing to cast videos from their tablets.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post
snip....
Of course it sounds like oc-rdx's sister has a recent Samsung with a nice guide and Samsung is defiantly not cheap nor a no name brand, a model number would be helpful to dmatch and whoever else wants a brand name TV with a guide function. I'm also somewhat in the market for a 55"+ model and would consider a PSIP guide to be a selling point as I'm OTA only.
Thanks, this helps, but yes, a model number would be helpful.

dmatch
dmatch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off