Cisco 8742 and DD 5.1 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-11-2012, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
paulv4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This was discussed in a previous thread, but I was unable to find a resolution.

My unit will output DD 5.1 from the HDMI output, and 2 channel from the SPDIF.

Is there a way to reverse this to provide 5.1 from the SPDIF and 2 channel from the HDMI?

My cable provider is Brighthouse.
paulv4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-12-2012, 03:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulv4 View Post

This was discussed in a previous thread, but I was unable to find a resolution.

My unit will output DD 5.1 from the HDMI output, and 2 channel from the SPDIF.

Is there a way to reverse this to provide 5.1 from the SPDIF and 2 channel from the HDMI?

My cable provider is Brighthouse.

When I did a search for that STB, I got very little info.
Even Cisco's website does not list an 8742.
So I looked up the manual for an 8642, and found this below. Your box should be similiar. See if this works:

Important Notes Regarding the HDMI Interface on the Set-Top
The HDMI interface automatically configures the audio output for a format supported by the television. Because not all
TVs support the Dolby Digital input, the HDMI interface may automatically select a 2-channel stereo audio confi guration
instead of Dolby Digital, which it carries over to the other digital audio outputs of the set-top. This prevents your home
theater system or Dolby Digital decoder from providing the full Dolby Digital surround-sound effect.
You can override this confi guration by completing the following steps.
1. Press SETTINGS twice on the remote control to open the General Settings menu.
2. Press MOVE UP or MOVE DOWN to select the option Audio: Digital Out.
3. Press MOVE RIGHT to select Dolby Digital. This setting will send Dolby Digital audio to the HDMI, DIGITAL AUDIO
OUT, and OPTICAL AUDIO OUT connectors on the set-top.
Notes:
If the TV is not Dolby Digital capable, it may not produce audio through its speakers when the Audio: Digital Out
setting on the set-top is set to Dolby Digital. You can either switch the Audio: Digital Out setting back to HDMI
when you are not using the home theater or Dolby Digital decoder, or you can connect the baseband audio outputs
(OUT 1 Audio Left and Right) to the TV.
mikepier is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-13-2012, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
paulv4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 8742 must be a very new machine.

The audio menu in the Brighthouse setup is very sparse. None of the options listed in your post are available.

I am unable to find a method to access the setup menu for the STB itself.
paulv4 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-17-2012, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
paulv4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found that the configuration can be accessed by using settings, devices.
This allows the digital audio output to be configured.
Apparently that is a change between the 8642 and 8742.
paulv4 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-12-2012, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
dvdhunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. I started to think my 8742 could not output digital dolby and was getting frustrated. It's now crystal clear.
dvdhunt is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-29-2013, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York, New York, USA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe a lot of this is actually ISP related. With the same Cisco8742 and Time-Warner I get the exact opposite. HDMI is throttled at 2 channels but the Optical out is OK. And actually these CISCO's are ALL customized depending on the ISP, which is why you won't find a manual on the CISCO site.

When I follow the instructions above (which I did some time ago) it winds up gelding both the HDMI AND the SPDIF to both be basically useless. It actually sets them both to a circa 1994 protocol "Dolby Stereo" --not even Dolby Digital. There are three options on my setup---Both to "Dolby Digital", HDMI or Other--All three are useless for what I'm looking for. I get a similar problem with a T-W Samsung Cable Box so pretty sure it's T-W related. I'm better off running a straight RCA analogue Left/Right hookup and letting my AVS decode into the surround sound or "Straight Stereo" that suites me. I stream just about everything from the internet now. Sports is about the only thing I watch Broadcast in Realtime so for now I'm not going to spend much more time worrying about the Cisco. I have about 5 other devices with HDMI, all of which send a good audio.

I think in the other thread someone asked about a remote controlled Optical Switch. You can probably get 'em but since it HAS to physically switch the Optical signal it's not likely to be a trivial device. The Mechanical ones that you switch by hand, of course are trivial but not convenient. The new AVS I'm getting has 6 HDMI imputs/2 out and 2 optical inputs/0 out. Optical is not a bad way for me to connect up my sound systems between rooms in my apt. It would be nice if I could find something lots of HDMI's, Optical and Coax in and out, and even some S-Videos for legacy stuff. ONE AVS to RULE THEM ALL! Neither Yamaha nor Marantz have covered all bases no matter how much you spend.
Paulb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off