Picture but no sound using Comcast through an AVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-22-2012, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thomas2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello....I'm a noob here. Not sure if this is posted in the right forum or not...please excuse me I am in the wrong area.

I have a technical problem. If anyone can point me in the right direction I wold be grateful.

I lost the audio signal with my TV. Video is fine. just no sound.

signal comes into the house via Comcast cable...from the comcast box into a Denon amp. Using all HDMI connectors. My Bluray player works fine, AppleTV works fine. When I switch to the TV speakers I get audio , just when I try to use the amp for the audio I get nothing.

It was working fine - I was changing channels and, boom, no audio.


equipment is:

Samsung D7000
Denon AVR1612
Samsung BD Player


Anyone??


Thanks
thomas2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-22-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome.
If you go back and edit your thread's subject with your specific problem, you'll be more likely to get help. Just "technical help" will make most people just pass by your thread.
arxaw is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-22-2012, 09:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,833
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Title edited to make more specific.

Have you tried hooking everything up using component video and optical audio instead of hdmi? Or connect the Comcast box directly to the TV to rule out the Comcast box.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-22-2012, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 18
We need more specifics. How is comcast box connected to TV? How is comcast box connected to Denon amp? Do you have HDMI from comcast box to Denon?
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-22-2012, 05:55 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If you did not link the comcast remote to do the volume control of the tv, make sure that someone has not hit mute button on the CC remote. Also, what box do you have from Comcast. They hand out about five different boxes depending on market.
gregzoll is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-24-2012, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
resolc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it is only the comcast that you do not get sound on try adjusting your programing selection on using the movie button on your remote or receiver, if this doesn't work go to your gui and see if you have set up your sound for cbl/sat to be hdmi or optical
resolc is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off