Zimmerman, MN: Is this a good antenna? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 05-11-2012, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
, I was thinking of a
AntennaCraft 33 Element UHF / High-Band VHF Outdoor HDTV Antenna (HBU33) for $43.00, I was going to try that on my roof, connected to my chimney. Check my results and then if I think I can do better ,I'll add a Winegard AP8700 Chromstar 2000 Series VHF/UHF Pre Amplifier (AP-8700) for $29.00 , I do have a budget concern but I will get what is needed. How does this antenna look. Most my channels our 35 miles from me but there seems to be quite a few at longer distances
jbander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Go to TV Fool, punch in your info and post it, or a link, in this topic.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it won't let me give it to you, I have 4-5 post but it keeps saying I need three posts to send a address my zip is 55398, will that do?
jbander is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can You tell me were in the tv fool chart I can find the color code for distance the green, yellow, red, gray, The only thing that I see has multiple colors is in the azimuth line but there is also blue in mine
jbander is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 11:22 AM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbander View Post

Can You tell me were in the tv fool chart I can find the color code for distance the green, yellow, red, gray, The only thing that I see has multiple colors is in the azimuth line but there is also blue in mine

Just post the link TVfool gives you and we can help you figure things out.
BCF68 is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Post a link to the TVFool report for your exact address, which you should be able to do, now that you will have 5 posts. Your address will not show on the linked page.

If you would have just scrolled down the TVFool results page, you would see the color codes description.
arxaw is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 05:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

Just post the link TVfool gives you and we can help you figure things out.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65902c87a9de
jbander is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 07:13 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:

That's based on zip code we need your exact location. Signal strength can vary within a neighborhood let alone an entire zip code.
BCF68 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

That's based on zip code we need your exact location. Signal strength can vary within a neighborhood let alone an entire zip code.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65aaba897232 Sorry I thought it had the same result, I didn't look close enough. By the way thanks for the help
jbander is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 05-12-2012, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've looked at the tv fool map and it looks like all of my stations are within 37 miles, then they jumps up to 70 miles. Is that telling me that I should just respond to the under 37 miles stations because it seems like over 70 and the power that farther stations have make it look like I should disregauard them.
jbander is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 06:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mileage is not what you go by; signal strength is.

Your nearby stations are strong and the HBU33 should work fine without a preamp. Aim the antenna compass direction of ~137°. IF and only if, you find signal strength is so low that some weaker channels are dropping out, add a high input preamp, like the HDP269. You don't want to over-amplify, as that can distort the signal be as bad as a too-weak signal.

After installation, please post back with your reception results.
arxaw is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 07:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I would go with the Winegard 8700 if a preamp is truly needed. As mentioned by Arxaw, you shouldn't need one unless you are powering more than 2-3 sets or have extraordinarily long cable runs.

Unfortunately the HDP-269 is sensitive to failure from static buildup & nearby lightning strikes.
Digital Rules is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All preamps are sensitive to lightning & static damage.
One reason to properly ground/bond an antenna mast & coax.

Have you had mulitiple failures of the 269 or just one? I haven't had any of them fail.
arxaw is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Digital Rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 1,877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by arxaw View Post

All preamps are sensitive to lightning & static damage.
One reason to properly ground/bond an antenna mast & coax.

Have you had mulitiple failures of the 269 or just one? I haven't had any of them fail.

Yes, I did have one fail personally & have read of more than one on the Digital Home website. Seems to be more sensitive than others out there.

In total agreement about proper grounding.
Digital Rules is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. That's news to me.
arxaw is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 08:32 AM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbander View Post

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65aaba897232 Sorry I thought it had the same result, I didn't look close enough. By the way thanks for the help

Yeah using your address made a huge difference in the results. Persoanlly I think the HBU33 would work just fine and I wouldn't even bother with a pre-amp. It could overload some of the stronger stations. Depends on how many TVs you plan on hooking this into. ION is off by 80 degrees from the others but it's by far your strongest station so it may still come in with no problem.
BCF68 is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Mister B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

ION is off by 80 degrees from the others but it's by far your strongest station so it may still come in with no problem.

With most of my experience from the analog days, I always wonder how far off axis will work even with strong signals as is being discussed in this Minneapolis scenario? With analog reception that ION station would have had a very pronounced ghost if the antenna had been aimed at the remainder of the transmitters. Does anyone have a "rule of thumb" on how far off axis will still give a good digital signal nowadays, or does that just take some experimentation on each individual situation?
Mister B is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 12:15 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister B View Post

With most of my experience from the analog days, I always wonder how far off axis will work even with strong signals as is being discussed in this Minneapolis scenario? With analog reception that ION station would have had a very pronounced ghost if the antenna had been aimed at the remainder of the transmitters. Does anyone have a "rule of thumb" on how far off axis will still give a good digital signal nowadays, or does that just take some experimentation on each individual situation?

Well digital doesn't have ghosting. My "best" station is I the mid 20's in the NM(dB) compared to his 65 for his ION station and I can be off by 45 degrees and still get it in with a modest antenna outdoors. But I also guess it depends on the antenna. All one can do is try it and see.
BCF68 is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 05-13-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister B View Post

With most of my experience from the analog days, I always wonder how far off axis will work even with strong signals as is being discussed in this Minneapolis scenario? With analog reception that ION station would have had a very pronounced ghost if the antenna had been aimed at the remainder of the transmitters. Does anyone have a "rule of thumb" on how far off axis will still give a good digital signal nowadays, or does that just take some experimentation on each individual situation?

Yes, in analog days we called them ghosts and you could calculate the time delay by measuring the distance on the screen between the main image and the ghost.

Today we call them multipath reflections (some engineers still use the term ghosts or echos). How much you can get away with depends upon the time difference between the the primary signal and the reflection, how strong the reflection is, and how well your tuner is able to handle multipath.

The relative amplitude of the reflections becomes more critical as they increase in time difference from the primary signal.

See the echo table in attachment #1 which comes from page 22 of
ATSC Recommended Practice:
Receiver Performance Guidelines

Document A/74:2010, 7 April 2010
atsc.org/cms/standards/a_74-2010.pdf

Converter boxes were also required to meet equalizer specifications for multipath to be eligible for the coupon program.
NTIA
DTV Converter Box Cupon Program
Information Sheet for Manufacturers
March 2007
The second attachment shows the specs.

Quote:
All one can do is try it and see.

Correct
LL
LL

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 05-14-2012, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone, should I get a signal tester or can I find the right direction without it. I'm going with a chimney mount and I was also wondering how many 5 foot poles I could be comfortable with using ,One two nine. Without support cables
jbander is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 05-14-2012, 11:01 PM
 
BCF68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbander View Post

Thanks everyone, should I get a signal tester or can I find the right direction without it. I'm going with a chimney mount and I was also wondering how many 5 foot poles I could be comfortable with using ,One two nine. Without support cables

If you want to spend a few hundred $$$ on a signal tester go for it. If you have a smartphone you could always download a compass app.
BCF68 is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 05-15-2012, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF68 View Post

If you want to spend a few hundred $$$ on a signal tester go for it. If you have a smartphone you could always download a compass app.

I was thinking in terms of a few dollars, No I'm to cheap for that.
jbander is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 05-15-2012, 04:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:


should I get a signal tester

Does your tv have a signal strength meter? My SONY KDL22L5000 has one in the Diagnostics Screen to help aim the antenna.



Quote:


can I find the right direction

Start with a compass, then use the signal strength meter if your tv has one.
Quote:


I'm going with a chimney mount and I was also wondering how many 5 foot poles I could be comfortable with using ,One two nine. Without support cables

I wouldn't use more than one if it is not guyed.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 05-16-2012, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbander View Post

Thanks everyone, should I get a signal tester or can I find the right direction without it.

I previously suggested you aim it at a compass direction of 137°. If you have a compass, that should be all you need to do, besides running a scan for digital antenna channels. If your TV has a Cable/Antenna scan mode, make sure you choose Antenna.

If you don't have a compass, get one at any discount or sporting goods store. They're cheap and you don't need a fancy one, as long as it has degree markings on it.
arxaw is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 05-20-2012, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll look at both and see what I can decern.
jbander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off