Help with OTA setup in Atlanta - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 05-14-2012, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully someone can help me with my issue. I'm just a novice on all of this so excuse my probably stupid questions. Looking to cut the cord and utilize my OTA antenna for live basic tv - which is where I've already run into trouble.

Basic setup
I have a DB8 HDTV antenna set up in the attic (angled at 140 degrees). From there I have a long coaxial cord running outside to the cable box where it is split and runs through the lines in the house. Here is a picture with my setup:
pic: freeimagehosting.net/fkp7g

My issues
two issues actually. My antenna is only getting UHF reception (thought this could be an issue). So, I need to also hook up a VHF antenna and from what I've read, I can use a uhf/vhf diplexer to keep my basic setup the same.

My other issue is the signal strength is not very good. This is likely due to the distance the signal needs to run though my cables and a splitter. I believe an amplifier will fix it but I'm unsure of what type will work best for my setup - with it going through a diplexer and an outdoor cablebox/splitter before going to the tv.

Help?
Suggestions on either of these issues? Specifically, a suggestion on a decent VHF antenna and what type/how to set up an amplifier?

If I forgot to include any other important info, let me know, I'll be monitoring this thread closely hoping someone is able to lend me a hand. Thanks.

Other info that is usually requested:
tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3db1a8777cd74714

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 05-14-2012, 09:00 AM

Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiOS24 View Post