HD STB Advice - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-02-2012, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys

My friend just inherited a 2003 Zenith C27V22 "HDTV Monitor" that has a coax/antenna input. All he has is an OTA antenna. This sets tuner would not receive any OTA stations and we know the antenna is functioning.

Is there a tuner/converter that takes OTA input and outputs HD through component out? The set only has component or RGB HD inputs. Is the problem that the built in tuner is pre-conversion?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-02-2012, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 245
A HD tuner with component output is probably going to cost more than it's worth(>$100). With a TV that small I'd really suggest just a quality CECB(SD converter box) which can be had used on Craigslist and other places for ~$20. ~$50 new but not that great quality for currently available models.
CECB forum The CM7000 is almost HD like via S-video and the Zenith/Insignia models are also good via composite.
HD Converter box thread if you really want to go HD.
jjeff is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-02-2012, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjeff View Post

A HD tuner with component output is probably going to cost more than it's worth(>$100). With a TV that small I'd really suggest just a quality CECB(SD converter box) which can be had used on Craigslist and other places for ~$20. ~$50 new but not that great quality for currently available models.
CECB forum The CM7000 is almost HD like via S-video and the Zenith/Insignia models are also good via composite.
HD Converter box thread if you really want to go HD.

Thanks, Jeff

He has a decent SD converter. Just wanted to kick him up a notch I posted over on the converter box thread, too.

bob
spongebob is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 06-02-2012, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BTW, what do I search for, ebay, CL? HD Converter? Find too much other stuff not realated on ebay.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-02-2012, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 11,245
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

BTW, what do I search for, ebay, CL? HD Converter? Find too much other stuff not realated on ebay.

bob

I haven't really seen HD converter boxes on CL, more in the line of SD CECBs and I don't really do ebay. I've seen a HD box somewhere online(can't remember where) that had VGA as one of it's outputs, I believe under $100 and maybe closer to $80. I think it was a Kworld and I thought it was at Microcenter but I couldn't find it now, maybe they ran out, it was probably old stock.
jjeff is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 09:43 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 15,010
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 870 Post(s)
Liked: 1729
All you need to know is here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=179095

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikepier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island and Upstate NY
Posts: 2,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

Guys

My friend just inherited a 2003 Zenith C27V22 "HDTV Monitor" that has a coax/antenna input. All he has is an OTA antenna. This sets tuner would not receive any OTA stations and we know the antenna is functioning.

Is there a tuner/converter that takes OTA input and outputs HD through component out? The set only has component or RGB HD inputs. Is the problem that the built in tuner is pre-conversion?

thx

bob

That TV was manufactured in 2003. It only has an analog tuner, not digital, so thats why you will not get any channels off your antenna.
Also that screen is only 4:3, it's not even widescreen. Even if you did get an external tuner and watched it in widescreen mode with bars on top and bottom, it will look so small like you are watching a 22" HDTV.

There are many 32" HDTV's out there reasonably priced that has internal digital tuners that will probably be better than you paying for an external tuner that will not even give you a full widescreen picture on your tv.
mikepier is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 46,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Topic title edited.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepier View Post

That TV was manufactured in 2003. It only has an analog tuner, not digital, so thats why you will not get any channels off your antenna.
Also that screen is only 4:3, it's not even widescreen. Even if you did get an external tuner and watched it in widescreen mode with bars on top and bottom, it will look so small like you are watching a 22" HDTV.

There are many 32" HDTV's out there reasonably priced that has internal digital tuners that will probably be better than you paying for an external tuner that will not even give you a full widescreen picture on your tv.


Thanks, Good advice!

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Topic title edited.



I tried right after I posted but it wouldn't let me!


bob
spongebob is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 06-03-2012, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 46,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepier View Post

There are many 32" HDTV's out there reasonably priced that has internal digital tuners that will probably be better.....

+1, around $200.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off