Balun prior to Comcast HD box. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-18-2012, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Did some searching but couldn't find an exact answer to this. I'm ditching ATT for many reasons and want to try Comcast. I have two rooms with Cat5 connections but no RG6 connections.The Cat5 will be used exclusively for the A/V cable signal. Can I use a Balun from the incoming comcast RG6 to convert the signal for use over the Cat5 to each of these two rooms, then convert it back to RG6 to input it to the cable box and have it work? This will be HDTV with premium channels. Didn't know if the Balun would cause a problem with the encoding of the premium channels.

If this can be done, will there be a picture quality degradation or other down-sides to this I should be aware of?

Any recommendations of a specific Balun?

Thanks!
Bullitt5094 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-18-2012, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I don't think this will work. If you could find a balun that would match RG6 to CAT 5 the leakage from the CAT 5 would be so high the cable company would be required by FCC rules to disconnect you.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-19-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Nope. You could use the CAT5 to carry baseband A/V signals, but not the RF.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-19-2012, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I was afraid of that. Looks like I'll be fishing some RG6 from the attic. Thanks for the replies.
Bullitt5094 is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off