OTA reception in Las Vegas - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
60 channels but No NBC TV in northwest Las vegas (Centennial Hills) with Over The Air antenna.

Oh well, with 60 channels and more with IPTV box on top of the TV, who need NBC?
brwarren1602 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but can't receive it. Tried three antennas but in my upstairs apartment, everything except chan 3.1 and 3.2 and 3.3 comes in. Seems kinda rediculous to receive 60 stations (channels) and not those!

Guess their signal requires something special the other 60 channels don't!

I'm currently using a 5 element yagi (UHF) to get what I get............
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #3 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
current location is 300 to 400 feet south of the santa fe hotel/casino on the 2nd floor with a clear shot a the southeastern mountains.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #4 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried three indoor antennae and the current yagi aimed out the window toward Black Mountain.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #5 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but can't receive it. Tried three antennas but in my upstairs apartment, everything except chan 3.1 and 3.2 and 3.3 doesn't come in. Seems kinda rediculous to 60 stations (channels) and not those!

Guess their signal requires something special the othe 60 channels don't!

I'm currently using a 5 element yagi (UHF) to get what I get............ReplyQuote Multi 0 ReplyQuote Multi 0 post #4 of 4 1 second ago Thread Starter
brwarren1602Trader Feedback: 0


online
Tried three indoor antennae and the current yagi aimed out the window toward Black Mountain.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #6 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It use to come in only a mile south of here! And at ground level. We are talking about the channels 3.1 and 3.2; Right? Digital?
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #7 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's only a few Low Power VHF stations on anymore in this area.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #8 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your missing my point. chan 3.1 and 3.2 are UHF Digital channels; the only digital channels not receivable where I am, and I tried VHF, UHF and the 5 element UHF yagi.

I am using a cubical quad for the bed room TV With miraculous results!

NBC is the only OTA broadcasted network I can't receive. I get BBC and W and SONY and some other networks on the IPTV box without even a subscription.

60 OTA channels, (and hundreds of others with the IPTV box! so I'm just wondering if channel 2 (3.1 & 3.2) are being blocked by a weather WX baloon.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #9 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.1 and 3.2 are digital UHF that I received LAST YEAR in my house a mile south of here with only Rabbit Ears on a ten foot pole, and now can't get them.

If they have gone back to using the vhf low freqs, that wouldn't make sense.
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #10 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 09:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know where you are comming from, but I've been building antennae for nearly 60 years and work radio and tv freqs from 300 kilohz to 3 gig.
I receive the Goldfield repeater and signals from Laughlin here.

NBC was 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3 Digital at Alexander Road and Rainbow Blvd ever since TV went digital.

Now, only a mile north of there, I don't see any 3.1 or 3.2 on old tvs new tvs (plasma) and I still receive some low powered repeater/translators on the Plasma with all the HDTV signals that are broadcasted except 3.1 and 3.2...........

Warren ( N6CSK7)
Ret. USAF communications and computer Customer Engineer
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #11 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know where you are comming from, but I've been building antennae for nearly 60 years and work radio and tv freqs from 300 kilohz to 3 gig.
I receive the Goldfield repeater and signals from Laughlin here.

NBC was 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3 Digital at Alexander Road and Rainbow Blvd ever since TV went digital.

Now, only a mile north of there, I don't see any 3.1 or 3.2 on old tvs new tvs (plasma) and I still receive some low powered repeater/translators on the Plasma with all the HDTV signals that are broadcasted except 3.1 and 3.2...........

Warren ( N6CSK7)
Ret. USAF communications and computer Customer Engineer
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #12 of 38 Old 06-21-2012, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
K9ZKR

N6CSK

N6CSK/H1

N6CSK/H0

AFB6GZ

District 6 Deputy AF MARS DIRECTOR

District 6 FYMON oh, FYI
OTA includes both digital and analog channels !
The old VHF frequencies, especially 54 to 60 MHZ Is unusable for commercial TV now. Has been for eons because of six meters ham band which I use to work exclusively when I was a teenager and knew John The Baptist!

I quit! ! ! !
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #13 of 38 Old 06-22-2012, 12:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
(I deleted my earlier posts in this thread because they were off-topic, except for the first one when I said to Warren that NBC was on VHF-low RF channel 2.....which upset Warren. I should have left that one in place.)

Warren:

I had something to eat, which brought my blood glucose up, so I had a chance to think about your reception situation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brwarren1602 View Post

I don't know where you are comming from, but I've been building antennae for nearly 60 years and work radio and tv freqs from 300 kilohz to 3 gig.
I'm coming from facts, not opinion. KSNV NBC, real rf channel 2, is the strongest signal listed on your tvfool report.

It is not in your best self-interest to be hostile to people who are trying hard to help you; it tends to stop the flow of useful ideas.

I thought you came to this Forum for some new ideas to help you receive NBC, because what you have tried didn't work.
If your mind is closed to new ideas that don't agree with your old ideas, then I don't think anyone can help you.

This is your tvfool report for zip 89149 in Las Vegas (an exact address report would be more accurate; have you updated your callsign address?):

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1349f3e9865339

This is your tvfool report at W Alexander Rd & N Rainbow Blvd:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d1349f5475ab6ff

KSNV is an NBC station, but it is on real channel 2. You might have received NBC on UHF, not from the main transmitter, but from a translator like (from Wiki):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KSNV-DT
Quote:
KSNV's signal is rebroadcast on the following translators:

K11CN Caliente, Nevada
K14ND-D Overton, Nevada
K17CL Pahrump
K44AA Pahrump (off the air)
K07CM Panaca, Nevada
K03CM Pioche, Nevada
K02EG Ursine, Nevada
KVBT-LP (channel 41) Santa Clara, Utah

If you can remember on what UHF channel you received NBC at your previous location, you can try hunting for it at your present location. If not, you are stuck with real RF channel 2 for NBC.

You have the idea that NBC can't be on real RF channel 2 in Las Vegas. If you are right, then tvfool, rabbitears.info, and the FCC are wrong. That is possible, but not likely.
Quote:
3.1 and 3.2 are digital UHF that I received LAST YEAR in my house a mile south of here with only Rabbit Ears on a ten foot pole, and now can't get them.
Rabbit Ears are usually used for VHF signals.

http://transition.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=KSNV
http://www.rabbitears.info/market.php?request=station_search&callsign=KSNV
Quote:
The old VHF frequencies, especially 54 to 60 MHZ Is unusable for commercial TV now.
Yes, the noise level is high on VHF low, but there are still a few stations there.

According to rabbitears.info there are 6 full service CH2 stations, and 23 low power CH2 stations in the US:
http://www.rabbitears.info/statistics.php

73,
rabbit

I've been experimenting with antennas since I was 8. This is how I hunt for missing channels now:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/381623/the-official-avs-antenna-and-related-hardware-topic/14970#post_22105317

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #14 of 38 Old 06-22-2012, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Warren:

Here are some other ideas you can try:

1. Post your problem on the Las Vegas, NV - HDTV reception thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/148479/las-vegas-nv-hdtv/8640

It looks like some other guys there are having trouble with reception of KSNV; they might be able to help you.

If you go to that thread, look at the bottom of the page for Search This Thread in blue with a magnifing glass before it. Click on that and in the search box Search for posts in this thread, type KSNV which will bring up a list of posts that look like this one, for example:
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post


KSNV operates on rf-2, and is thus prone to interference from your neighbors car engine, your microwave, and your wife's vaccum cleaner. This is less the situation as you go higher in channel numbering.

It may appear that the NBC affiliate, KSNV-3 (rf-2), is broadcasting at low power to some. However their signal is near the fullest level allowable by the FCC for full service stations broadcasting on VHF 2-6. The KSNV transmitter power is near equal to that of the other Las Vegas stations operating on VHF 7-13 and UHF 14-51. The higher the channel number, the more power that is needed to serve the same geographical area.

Rabbit ears antennas should have their VHF rods extended fully and perhaps flat (horizontal) for low VHF 2-6. Less so for higher VHF channels 7-13.

Also keep in mind that the Las Vegas stations transmit from two distict locations. These are Black Mountain and McCullochs Range. For some, depending upon your location, a rotor may be necessary to tune stations from both locations. A third transmitter location, on Mt Potosi, is currently in use for KHMP 18.1-4, adding to the possible need for a rotor.

2. Call the KSNV station engineer for reception ideas. Since you are a commo guy, you would be able to have an intelligent conversation with him.

3. Send a PM to AVS Forum member Trip in VA who is our resident expert on TV broadcast stations. He is the rabbitears.info Webmaster.

4. Combine an antenna cut for CH2 with your UHF yagi using a UVSJ. Try different locations for the antenna. You probably have multipath reflections that make reception of CH2 difficult. In analog days we called them ghosts. Trip in VA had a similar problem in TN with strong local signals.
Quote:
I quit! ! ! !
Don't quit yet; a solution might be easier than you think.

Please try one of these ideas Warren, and let us know how it works out for you.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline  
post #15 of 38 Old 07-29-2012, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
brwarren1602's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even with my Godson's DTV, UHF, VHF Commercially built antenna I do not get channels 3.1, 3.2 and 3.3 with the new 42" Plasma TV. I am using the exact same equipment to receive NBC TV. I relocated just one mile north of where I was recieving Chan 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3 and now I don't get them. I get every other channel in the Valley, including channels 18.1, 2, and 18.3.

I recently found out That Comcast has bought over 50% of NBC and now the programming is all screwed up. MY LVTV 3 is viewable on the computer. bah, humbug!
brwarren1602 is offline  
post #16 of 38 Old 07-29-2012, 05:54 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,821
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 292
thread title edited to add location

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #17 of 38 Old 07-29-2012, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I fully agree with the other posters that trying to receive RF2 will be very challenging. Your new location is most likely close to a source of electrical interference called man-made noise, whereby your previous location was electrically quieter. The attached figure from a paper shows Channel 2 has the highest noise level which the TV signal has to overcome. This would require a more directional or larger antenna which is impractical.

Rcvr Noise Power vs Channel.jpg 73k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Rcvr Noise Power vs Channel.jpg (73.3 KB, 33 views)
retiredengineer is offline  
post #18 of 38 Old 07-29-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Install an 8' set of rabbit ears for channel 2.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #19 of 38 Old 07-29-2012, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post

Install an 8' set of rabbit ears for channel 2.

Or you can make a nine feet long folded dipole made from 300 ohms twinlead and tack it to the wall facing the transmit antenna.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #20 of 38 Old 02-18-2013, 04:12 PM
Member
 
jh20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ugh. I forgot what my username was and had to create a new one. That.....sucks lol!!

I think I might be able to help. I ditched cable last year here in the valley. I tried 8 different antennas trying to get as many channels as possible. I tried everything from indoor flat antennas to a $200 giant directional one from Fry's (biggest pos ever...lol). In the end I finally found this antenna that worked. I tried it both on the SW side of town at my house, my friends house in Summerlin and my parents in Henderson. All three locations picked up 68-73 channels total on the channel count (including all sub channels in the total). All 3 locations picked up channel 3! biggrin.gif

Finally I won the war!! The antenna was tested both inside and out. It worked best indoors as close to any window as possible (all channels except for channel 3 worked from inside the atic...could be because all 3 homes have a radiant roof barrier?). All 3 locations it worked great outside about 6 ft off the ground attached to a wood post (you just have to figure out a power run if you keep it ouside). Obviously based on the tests it would work great on the roof. Since it's omni directional you don't have to worry so much about which direction it is facing. I'd just make sure you do your best to give it the most open view possible and you are good smile.gif

PS: It took me awhile to reply, so I apologize for the descrepancy in post times heh. I saw that the message still remained so I had to answer.
BrianTisky likes this.
jh20001 is offline  
post #21 of 38 Old 06-11-2013, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
aklasvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone found a solution's to getting channel 3, 3.1 3.2? in las Vegas with an indoor antenna?
I tried with Leaf and only get 10 channels, what other product should i try,
I am in the southwest side of the Valley, I can only use and indoor antenna.

Thanks..
aklasvegas is offline  
post #22 of 38 Old 06-11-2013, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Digital 3.1/3.2/3.3 actually broadcasts on RF Ch2...which requires EACH of the Rabbit-Ears to be extended to about 95-inches (almost 8-ft) before the SWR drops to an acceptable level. Although Matching Networks in the base of commercial Rabbit-Ears can help (not much), most Rabbit-Ears can't be extended far enough to provide acceptable SWR Performance on Ch2 & Ch3:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/dipoles/vhfstickdipoles

Here are some Lo-VHF Antennas with good Ch2 performance that you could build and hopefully "hide" in your home, such as behind some curtains or in a closet...away from metal if possible. And note that there is no substitute for a LARGE Antenna, because Ch2 Wavelength is 17.3-feet:

a) Simple indoor DIY Ch2 (Only) Stick Dipole, aka "Rabbit-Ears", can be built using 2-each 95-in Tubes of at least 1/2-in Diameter, interconnected by a 300:75-ohm Balun Transformer. And it's OKAY to bend the ends up (or down) into an "L" shape to fit the available space...

b) Simple indoor DIY Ch2 (Only) Square Loop requires just 56.5-inches for each of four segments, using AWG12 (or larger) Wire:
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/loops/vhfloop

c) Simple indoor DIY design for a Lo-VHF (Ch2-6) Hourglass-Loop with acceptable SWR on Ch2...and more Gain than DIY Stick Dipole.
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/loops/lovhffmhourglassloop

d) Simple indoor DIY Lo/Hi-VHF (Ch2-13) 6-Whisker 1-Bay Bowtie (Note it covers ENTIRE VHF Band):
http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/dipoles/vhf1baybowtie
holl_ands is online now  
post #23 of 38 Old 06-11-2013, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Could the Georgia Tech idea be helpful here if the problem is noise and the noise can be blocked? It wouldn't be that difficult to try with some of the flat indoor antennas.
deltaguy is offline  
post #24 of 38 Old 06-11-2013, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I presume you mean Bill Naivar's UHF Antenna-In-A-Box approach to reducing Multipath (and EMI):
http://www.prism.gatech.edu/~wn17
http://www.prism.gatech.edu/~wn17/Web%20bill%20page%202.htm

However, for Ch2, the Antenna is HUGE and the "Box" would be as big as a HOUSE....which we get for FREE, with our Chicken-Wire in Stucco wall construction....which could be killing Ch2 signal strength indoors.....

Man-Made Noise is one of the biggest problems in the Lo-VHF Band, so it would be worth switching various appliances, lights, A/C Fans, etc. on and off to see if there is any effect....
holl_ands is online now  
post #25 of 38 Old 06-11-2013, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
In the Las Vegas HDTV thread, someone reported reception of rf 2 with a Leaf. So, a small blind could be tested. With a window, it could eliminate EMI from inside the house at least.
deltaguy is offline  
post #26 of 38 Old 06-12-2013, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
ajonate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

Digital 3.1/3.2/3.3 actually broadcasts on RF Ch2...which requires EACH of the Rabbit-Ears to be extended to about 95-inches (almost 8-ft) before the SWR drops to an acceptable level.

Yes, that's it. Low-band VHF requires an antenna with an 8-foot element to see RF channel 2, so ordinary VHF-UHF antennas that have smaller elements won't work for channels 3.1, 3.2, & 3.3.

Like a few other posters here I've run the possibilities, chasing bogus advice from people who don't know what they're talking about. First, the idiots at Fry's Electronics told me that I needed to buy a digital antenna, reasoning that my old anlog antenna won't work for digital reception. To be clear, digital TV still operates on RF frequencies, so THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A DIGITAL ANTENNA, no matter what it says on the box. Your old analog antenna will work just as well.

Next, another know-it-all told me that if the channel 3.1 signal strength is low that I need to buy an antenna with a booster. That's crazy, since everyone in Las Vegas is close enough to Black Mountain to get signals without a booster. The problem is that the elements on standard VHF-UHF antennas are not large enough to see that long of a wavelength. You can't boost a signal you can't see. Still I was desperate to I took the advice, and guess what -- the boosted antenna didn't help.

The solution:

I bought an antenna made specifically for low-band VHF reception. It's huge, but it wasn't terribly expensive. I couldn't find one locally, but found one online. I only ordered it a few weeks ago, but it shows that it's discontinued now.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?mc=03&p=YA6260&d=Winegard-YA-6260-Prostar-1000-6-El.-LoBand-TV-Antenna-%28YA6260%29&c=TV%20Antennas&sku=615798304874&utm_campaign=GAN&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_source=k244266&more=yes

This one should work fine though, and it's still available & costs less.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=v4&d=antennas-direct-v4-low-band-vhf-tv-antenna-%28v4%29

My antenna picks up channels 3.1, 3.2 & 3.3 great, as well as channels up to about 25.1. I get break-up using just the low-band antenna for higher numbered channels. What I did about that was to leave my old VHF-UHF antenna in place, then tied both coaxes into the same line. It works fine for all channels using both antennas.

In truth, if you are a hobbyist and think you can fabricate a simple 8-foot dipole antenna you could probably do just as well as the commercial antennas above. But my commercial antenna works fine.

Aim both antennas towards Black Mountain, the mountain just SW of the Fiesta Henderson hotel/casino.
ajonate is offline  
post #27 of 38 Old 06-12-2013, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Winegard YA-6260 Ch2-6 Antenna has about 6 dBi (3.9 dBd) Gain on Ch2, but they don't want to talk about SWR:
http://www.winegard.com/kbase/upload/ya-6260.pdf

There is a difference between an Analog and a Digital TV Antenna, which SHOULD have an SWR of about 2.7 or below. DTV signals are much more susceptible to moderate to high SWR's:
http://www.tvantenna.tv/papers/PFactorsV.pdf
http://www.tvantenna.tv/papers/dtv%20coverage%20and%20service%20prediction.pdf
http://www.tvtechnology.com/conference-updates/0136/low-band-vhf-dtv-revisited/183659
http://www.tvtechnology.com/conference-updates/0136/ieee-broadcast-symposium-part-/183700
holl_ands is online now  
post #28 of 38 Old 06-12-2013, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
ajonate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post

Winegard YA-6260 Ch2-6 Antenna has about 6 dBi (3.9 dBd) Gain on Ch2, but they don't want to talk about SWR:
http://www.winegard.com/kbase/upload/ya-6260.pdf

There is a difference between an Analog and a Digital TV Antenna, which SHOULD have an SWR of about 2.7 or below. DTV signals are much more susceptible to moderate to high SWR's:
http://www.tvantenna.tv/papers/PFactorsV.pdf
http://www.tvantenna.tv/papers/dtv%20coverage%20and%20service%20prediction.pdf
http://www.tvtechnology.com/conference-updates/0136/low-band-vhf-dtv-revisited/183659
http://www.tvtechnology.com/conference-updates/0136/ieee-broadcast-symposium-part-/183700

Pretty much a moot point for the Winegard YA-6260, since it's not available any longer. But it works well enough to put channel 3.1 in the 75% to 100% signal range at my house.

I don't know where the rest of your post was going. Do you have a specific suggestion for channel 3.1 reception in Las Vegas?
ajonate is offline  
post #29 of 38 Old 06-13-2013, 12:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
deltaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: solano county
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajonate View Post

Pretty much a moot point for the Winegard YA-6260, since it's not available any longer. But it works well enough to put channel 3.1 in the 75% to 100% signal range at my house.

I don't know where the rest of your post was going. Do you have a specific suggestion for channel 3.1 reception in Las Vegas?

This antenna is being used indoors? The antenna in a barrel idea from G.T. is something for people to try if they can't put an antenna outdoors. EMI can kill rf 9 & 10 here. I can only imagine how bad the same EMI would be for rf 2.
deltaguy is offline  
post #30 of 38 Old 06-13-2013, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajonate View Post

Pretty much a moot point for the Winegard YA-6260, since it's not available any longer. But it works well enough to put channel 3.1 in the 75% to 100% signal range at my house.

I don't know where the rest of your post was going. Do you have a specific suggestion for channel 3.1 reception in Las Vegas?
See my post #22, which listed several DIY Lo-VHF Antennas with SWR on Ch2 in the ACCEPTABLE range.
holl_ands is online now  
Reply HDTV Technical

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off