Need to "warm up" TV before I can watch HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-28-2012, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wavygravy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own an old VIERA® panasonic 50" TV. and a pretty old Onkyo 7.1 Home theater system.

Whenever I turn on my TV I can only view standard def channels. I need to wait about 10-15 minutes before I can switch to HD channels. I also have a PS3 that I can't use until my TV is "warmed up". I suspect the cause is Onkyo 7.1 Home theater system but I don't know for sure.

I also have a Comcast DVR.

Anyone heard of this before?

EDIT:
From looking at my previous posts it looks like I have this Onkyo system: HT-S9100THX HTIB
wavygravy2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-28-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Redirect all of the video connections of the DVR and PS3 from the Onkyo and connect directly to the TV. If problem persists.... it's not the Onkyo.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-29-2012, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wavygravy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

Redirect all of the video connections of the DVR and PS3 from the Onkyo and connect directly to the TV. If problem persists.... it's not the Onkyo.

Thanks. Isolating the problem is a good tip but the wires are hard to get to right now. I was hoping if anyone heard of this before and might know a possible resolution.
wavygravy2k is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-29-2012, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
We need to see a diagram of your connections a simple block will do.
RCbridge is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-29-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavygravy2k View Post

Thanks. Isolating the problem is a good tip but the wires are hard to get to right now. I was hoping if anyone heard of this before and might know a possible resolution.

LOL.... Will the wires be more accessible later? wink.gif After 10 years on this and other forums, I've read about all kinds of crazy problems. IMHO, the best way to diagnose a "problem" is to start by process of elimination or introduction.

Or you could just buy a new TV. If that doesn't work, buy a new AVR. If that doesn't work, get a new PS3 and DVR. biggrin.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-29-2012, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wavygravy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

LOL.... Will the wires be more accessible later? wink.gif After 10 years on this and other forums, I've read about all kinds of crazy problems. IMHO, the best way to diagnose a "problem" is to start by process of elimination or introduction.
Or you could just buy a new TV. If that doesn't work, buy a new AVR. If that doesn't work, get a new PS3 and DVR. biggrin.gif

Again, isolating the problem is without a doubt the best way to go when troubleshooting an issue but before I go that route, I wanted to ask around to see if anyone seen these symptoms before.

Strike that. I have no business arguing with someone who has over 12,000 posts! smile.gif
wavygravy2k is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-29-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 234
No argument at all. Just trying to help.
(and... the number of posts doesn't make me "smarter" than you or anyone else. smile.gif )
Ratman is offline  
Reply HDTV Technical

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off