Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 07-04-2012, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a noob. I have questions. I live in Taylors, SC 29687. My TV Fool info is
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d134981343d449b

I'm looking for suggestions for a good antenna setup. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I'd like to mount the mast off the side of my chimney. The chimney's height is reflected in the TVFool info. 35' was a guestimate of what the antenna might sit at once up on the mast.

Any critical information needed was left out due to ignorance.

Thanks ahead of time
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-04-2012, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The Antennacraft HBU22 from Radioshack should get all your local Asheville-Greenville-Spartanburg channels, as it is optimized for HiVHF and UHF which serve this market. But I would probably step up to a HBU33 or Winegard 7696 to get a stonger signal from RF13 in Asheville, which can be problematic. And that would give you a decent chance at Charlotte channels WBTV-3, WJZY-46, WCNC-36, and WMYT-55, if you are interested in more neighboring market channels. And a low gain preamp such as Winegard 269 should help with the distant channels while not overloading from the locals. And a rotor may be necessary unless you can find a sweet spot. But one of the best antennas for distant UHF signals is the 91XG from Antennas Direct, but if all you really want is the immediate locals, then the HBU22 should work fine.
post #3 of 6 Old 07-05-2012, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter

Considering the narrow beam of the 91XG, I think a rotor may be necessary. Also, If I used the 91xg or something similar, would I benefit from adding a dedicated VHF antenna?
post #4 of 6 Old 07-05-2012, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinsc View Post