Does Coax cable to HDMI adapter or converter exist? No - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
SilverBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I am wondering if such a product exits:

Coax cable to HDMI adapter or converter.

I am NOT looking to extend an HDMI signal over coax cable.

Coax cables are ridged, and very hard to put into *any* cable management scheme as they are harder to bend, where HDMI cables are far more flexible and can take sharp corners far easier than coax cables.
SilverBlade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 04:17 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,467
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Coax cables "are what they are" for a reason. The requirements for carrying an RF signal with minimal signal loss or degradation dictates the construction and physical chracteristics of the cable.

I believe it's time to Overthrow VerticalScope..
and Bring Back Huddler!


It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .
WS65711 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 05:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 417
That's like asking for apples to look and taste oranges.
Ratman is online now  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-15-2012, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post

...HDMI cables are far more flexible and can take sharp corners far easier than coax cables.
Not without damaging them...Both coaxial and HDMI cables have minimum bend radii.

Is this for analog audio or video/digital audio cables? For analog audio, you can get cheap patch cords that are flexible enough to tie in a knot, and they work just fine. For video/digital audio, you can use a balun that converts from coax to Cat 5/5e/6.
Colm is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-16-2012, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I assume you are talking about RG59/RG6 coax or RF cables, not coax digital audio cables?

If so there are some cable manufacturers out there who make RG6 cables that are very flexible and work well, however they tend to be much more expensive. This is one thing that I did actually like about Monster Cable, they made some very nice, flexible RG6 cables. I actually have one RG6 cable that is about 50 foot long where the wire is only about an 1/8" in diameter and very flexible. It actually worked great and I used it for years in my old apartment where I had to run the coax from one wall around the edge of the room to the oppisite wall to get to my HD-DVR. It worked fine with both Comcast HD service as well as DirecTV HD service.

I just checked and Monster doesn't make the really thin cable like I have anymore, but the do seem to still make some of the other cables like I had.

http://www.monstercable.com/productdisplay.asp?pin=3834

These are much more flexible than regular coax cables, so it might be worth trying out.

And before everyone jumps on me about Monster being a ripoff, etc. I know that and I normally wouldn't recommend them. I usually buy all my cables from Monoprice, but in this particular instance where the poster is looking for a more flexible coax I think this may be an option.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-16-2012, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
cgmv123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 35
http://www.summitsource.com/philips-swv2037-right-angle-male-fconnector-to-f-adapter-rg6-rg59-gold-plated-adapter-f90-degree-adapter-connector-coax-cable-rg6-rg59-component-fitting-female-to-male-rf-digital-signal-tv-adapter-part-swv2037-p-8794.html

Not the solution you described, but it helps solve your problem.

Max Vrany
All opinions are my own unless otherwise specified.
I make no guarantees as to the accuracy of any information given.
GO Pack GO! On Wisconsin! Go Brewers!
cgmv123 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-17-2012, 05:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 13,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 349
Please keep thread titles specific. See my edit.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-21-2013, 01:54 PM
Newbie
 
Lito Nane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lito Nane is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-03-2015, 06:46 PM
Member
 
PANASONICPZ85U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to push hdmi into my dvr and the only input to the magnavox dvr (2009) is a coax input.
Because Buckeye Cablesystem in northwest ohio requires me to connect now via their hdta digital box, the only signal carrying hd coming out of their box has to go out on the hdta's hdmi out jack, yet the magnavox only has a coax input.
Currently I have it connected with the coax out jack from the hdta out .

So of course I would at a minimum want to leave the hdta with hdmi out jack and an hdmi cable, then "pass it thru" a converter that then outputs it to coax wire yet maintains the hd, and at best just have a wire or cable that has hdmi at one end and coax at the other end. (this does not exist i presume, but perhaps the former does)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	4.4 KB
ID:	458266  

Last edited by PANASONICPZ85U; 01-03-2015 at 06:52 PM.
PANASONICPZ85U is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off